Spicy Sweet Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
I like the combo of sweet and white potatoes. If you don't want a mayo-based salad, apple cider vinegar and extra virgin olive oil make a fine substitute dressing. Yum...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
I thought this recipe was wonderful and truly unique. I rarely give 5 stars, but really felt this recipe was worthy. I used veganaise (instead of regular mayo) and omitted the jalapeno pepper - it was still spicy enough for me. I would suggest you start with half the amount of curry powder and add more to taste. I put the full amount in and felt it was just a tad too strong. It still tasted great, but next time I'm going to try it this way aiming for the "what's in there?" mystery level of curry rather than "wow that curry tastes good". I also substituted 1/2 of the red potatos for blue ones. This made for a very colorful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
This is delicious! I used a small onion instead of large, minced jalapenos from a jar, lime juice instead of lemon, half mayonaise and half sour cream, and added two stalks of chopped celery and 4 chopped hard boiled eggs. It was a big hit - I'll make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2001
I wanted to bring something 'different' to a party. I love love love sweet potatoes, but wasn't crazy about this salad. However, it was a TREMENDOUS hit with everybody and was completely gone in a flash ! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2004
This was okay but not a big hit at a family gathering. I used half the amount of curry and it was still strong. Probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2004
Skip the jalapenos if your family isn't into hot stuff, this recipe got rave reviews, I'll use it every time I need to make potato salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2004
When you want more than just a simple potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Eudy Harris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albemarle, North Carolina, USA
Living In: New London, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
I made this as one of the salads for my son's high school graduation party about a month ago. I'm STILL getting requests for the recipe! I personally don't do sweet potatoes, but this was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2003
This is great! Served to a visiting "meat and potatoes" man and he almost licked the plate. Onions we have been getting have been so strong that I tried putting 1/2 red onion and 1/4 c. celery and it was almost as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2001
An interesting, zippy 3-potato salad. Not for all, but a nice side dish with burgers, hot dogs, and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

Check out this cool way to make potato chips!

Grilled Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

Check out this cool way to make potato chips!

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States