Spicy Sweet Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
I like the combo of sweet and white potatoes. If you don't want a mayo-based salad, apple cider vinegar and extra virgin olive oil make a fine substitute dressing. Yum...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
I thought this recipe was wonderful and truly unique. I rarely give 5 stars, but really felt this recipe was worthy. I used veganaise (instead of regular mayo) and omitted the jalapeno pepper - it was still spicy enough for me. I would suggest you start with half the amount of curry powder and add more to taste. I put the full amount in and felt it was just a tad too strong. It still tasted great, but next time I'm going to try it this way aiming for the "what's in there?" mystery level of curry rather than "wow that curry tastes good". I also substituted 1/2 of the red potatos for blue ones. This made for a very colorful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
I have to say this was really unique. One of my local grocery stores makes a three potato salad that has sweet potatoes in it so I knew that this was really a great addition to potato salad. The curry flavor really punched things up. I liked it, I think I would also consider the addition of green onion, I also omitted jalapeno pepper because it kills my stomach. Overall though, nice color, great flavor, fairly easy, and sweet potatoes are good for you, all good reasons to try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
I made this as one of the salads for my son's high school graduation party about a month ago. I'm STILL getting requests for the recipe! I personally don't do sweet potatoes, but this was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2003
This is great! Served to a visiting "meat and potatoes" man and he almost licked the plate. Onions we have been getting have been so strong that I tried putting 1/2 red onion and 1/4 c. celery and it was almost as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
I made this potato salad with my Easter ham dinner and everyone LOVED it! I won't ever make potato salad any other way again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2002
This was great spiced up potatoe Salad. Very Tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2001
An interesting, zippy 3-potato salad. Not for all, but a nice side dish with burgers, hot dogs, and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2001
I wanted to bring something 'different' to a party. I love love love sweet potatoes, but wasn't crazy about this salad. However, it was a TREMENDOUS hit with everybody and was completely gone in a flash ! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-59 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

Check out this cool way to make potato chips!

Grilled Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

Check out this cool way to make potato chips!

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States