Spicy Sweet Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: May 28, 2006
Killer potato salad! I am always asked for the recipe, people love the addition of sweet potatos, and the curry is such a wonderful complement to the flavors. Sometimes I leave the curry out and use fresh dill, chopped dill pickle, and sprinkle pickle juice on the potatos. Thanks for sharing this terrific summer recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
This is delicious! I used a small onion instead of large, minced jalapenos from a jar, lime juice instead of lemon, half mayonaise and half sour cream, and added two stalks of chopped celery and 4 chopped hard boiled eggs. It was a big hit - I'll make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
My husband didn't like the strong curry taste in the salad, even though I'd already cut down the amount of curry by half. I didn't mind the curry, but thought there was too much lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
This was ok, I just wasn't knocked out by the flavor. Not sure I'd do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
What a great salad!! I served it for my mother's 85th birthday party and it was a real hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2004
When you want more than just a simple potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albemarle, North Carolina, USA
Living In: New London, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
great variation on plain old potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2004
This was okay but not a big hit at a family gathering. I used half the amount of curry and it was still strong. Probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2004
Skip the jalapenos if your family isn't into hot stuff, this recipe got rave reviews, I'll use it every time I need to make potato salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
This recipe is great! I thought the curry was a little too strong, so next time, I'll cut it down to 1/2-3/4 T; also, the onions turned out kind of stringy; I'll quarter and then thinly slice. But overall a wonderful alternative to traditional potato salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States