Spicy Sweet Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Brilliant - this is a regular at BBQ's - I'm always asked to make the potato salad! I use chillis instead of pimentos (as I never have pimentos in the fridge) and just white potatoes as its all I usually have. Really tangy and the curry sets it off nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I really wanted to like this but I made it for Thanksgiving and most of it got thrown out. I don't know if everybody is just hung up on my standard potato salad or if it was the curry (which is the strongest flavor in the salad) but it just didn't fly. I didn't think the sweet potatoes and the curry were complimentary. I'll keep looking for a favorite sweet potato salad. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elite99999

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Old Fort, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Forest City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Excellent! I made three changes from the published recipe: 1) I used dried jalepeno instead of minced fresh; 2) (at the suggestion of another reviewer, I used half sour cream and half mayo; and 3) I added a healthy sprinkling of fresh watercress along with (Italian) parsley. Great stuff...warm and spicy while cool and light...go figure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
This potato salad is truly 5 star. It was this recipe that made me join 'all recipies' it is fantastic!! The hint of spice gives this salad a kick and lifts it from something ordinary to something special. Great for pot luck events.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Great for pot lucks---people who hate sweet potatos have asked me for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by herz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Very yummy salad! I got a lot of compliments on it. I made it essentially as written. I only gave it 4 stars because of the amount of prep involved. I would definately make this salad again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I used this recipe for a contest between friends and won! I really like this twist on potatoe salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
I prefer very plain potato salad, so I made this more for Husband than for myself. I used regular white potatoes as that's what I had on hand, and I didn't bother with the parsley as we don't like it very much. Also added a pinch of salt. Thanks, Patty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
I was cooking Caribbean-Spicked Pork Side Ribs from this site and I wanted something that would compliment it and this sounded good. It was a hit - I've been asked to make this again for next week-end! I followed the recipe exactly except that I did not cook the potatoes the day before (missed that when I was reading but will try that next time). I did make the salad very early in the day and let it sit in the fridge most of the day before serving. Patty also said to slice the onion and add salt and let it sit and then sqeeze out the water. I never heard of that either - but I had time to do that! Well thanks Patty - I learned something new and useful. The salt changes the consistency of the onion (really neat!) I will cook the potatoes a day ahead of time the next time to see what the difference is. In any event Patty, thanks for sharing your recipe. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
Exceptionally great salad. Would recommend to all my friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by F. Peters

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Wewoka, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States