Spicy Sweet Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This has been a big hit this year, but here are some minor changes I make each time: I use Yukon Golds and Sweet Potatoes. I also omit the red onion and substitute green onions: then you can use the jalapeno OR put in 2 tsp of sriracha hot chili sauce (in the Asian section of the grocery store). Excellent dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I get requests for this salad all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
deeeeLISH! i substituted half the mayo for sour cream. i think it made it tangier. next time, i'll double the jalapenos (seeded, of course).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I've made this potato salad multiple times for various parties and it's ALWAYS been a great hit. I think this is a simple recipe so it's hard to mess it up - thank goodness! A trusty, creative and tasty potato salad. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Not perhaps a fair assessment as I made this without the jalapeno and with less curry. I added hardboiled eggs and bacon but with the jalapeno pepper the flavour of these would be lost. I did not enjoy the texture of the sweet potato although the other potatoes were wonderful. Next time I would increase the curry, omit the sweet potato and try it with yams. I would also reduce the lemon and add a few tablespoons of white sugar to compliment the heat of the curry and pepper. This is best prepared a day in advance to let the flavours blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
this was really excellent! A big hit with BBQ ribs. I made the dressing the night before as well when I did the potatoes, had to use a yam though, and it really tasted fantastic! Husband and his Boss loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Great recipe. Nice mix of flavors and texture. Since I didn't have curry powder, I substituted for cumin with a bit of chili powder- it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I liked this recipe and agree it's a nice change from the typical potato salad at picnics. I added steamed asparagus to it, but otherwise used the recipe as written - dressing is wonderful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This was a fun alternative to regular potato salad and sweet potatoes are so good for you. I thought this salad was great. However, I did not like they soggy onion technique. I would just put normal raw onion in the salad next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This was ok. The sweet potatoes added an interesting flavor but something was missing for me. Probably the lack of tanginess from pickles or vinegar. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States