Spicy Sweet Potato Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
LOVED IT. even made a batch with standard potatoes and those turned out great as well. Love the kick that this recipe has!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delafield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Turned out great! Cooking time was spot on for me. For me, 1/4 tsp of cayenne didn't make it too spicy - in fact it was more sweet to me & I might add more cayenne next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
As the title says, these were definately sweet and spicy. A bit too sweet and too spicy for my taste buds. I used sour cream to calm down the spice. Next time I will probably half the syrup and cayenne. It was a nice combination of flavors but it was just a bit overwhelming to me. Will make again with adjustments. Oh, I also used my mandolin slicer to ensure even slices. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Flavor was pretty good, the way to cook them was not. Next time I will do half with the cayenne and half without (to please everyone). I definitely wont do the 1/4 inch slices either, next time I'll try it in french fry form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Not bad. I don't think I cut the potatoes evenly because they weren't totally done... either that or it simply isn't enough cooking time. Another recipe I read is to cook at 400 for 40 minutes... that might be worth trying. Also, use REAL maple syrup - I tried Cary's and it didn't work so well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
These were super easy and super yummy. I made mine just for a quick snack and to use the rest of this ginormous sweet potato I had. I cut mine very thin so they were crispier and because of my sweet tooth, ended up wishing they were a tad less spicy. Because of the spice though, I dipped them in ranch dressing (vegan for me) and they were delicious. I will FOR SURE make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Yummy! They had the perfect amount of sweet and spicy. I do wish they were a bit crispier, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Loved these! Didn't have maple syrup, so I used pancake syrup. I can't imagine them tasting any better. I cooked them a little longer than stated because I liked them crispy. Will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Good, but not great, in my opinion. A nice sweet/spicy flavour, nothing spectacular. Might make again as a snack, but probably would cook sweet potatoes another way for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Wenger Woodburn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States