Spicy Sweet Potato Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Chips turned out very crispy and tasty. Next time I'll use half the amount of salt, and I used olive oil instead of butter. Instead of brushing the mixture on the chips, I shook the chips, oil & seasonings in a large baggie. For those who complained the chips were soggy or burned: First issue is that you have to slice these ridiculously thin - I used a chef's knife to do it. You have to watch them like a hawk to avoid burning. You have to turn them in the middle of cooking. You need to remove the ones that are thinner & cooking faster as they get crisp/brown, and you need to run the final ones that aren't yet crips under the broiler. I will make these again. Oh - I would cook at least double to get enough chips to make it worth your while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Yum! Way better than plain fries. I used Cajun seasoning instead of cayenne, and I also put under the broiler for a bit after the fries were baked... took out the mushiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
A nice, easy way to prepare sweet potatoes, but WAY too spicy. I will eliminate the cayenne next time and simply add more salt and pepper along with the olive oil and maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
YUM!!!!!!!!!!!! This is a favorite go-to recipe when I'm looking for something simple, quick, and healthy. Even faster... you can just broil them. Same time to broil, but you don't have to wait as long for the oven to heat up. Skip the syrup to make them healthier...still taste fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
LOVED IT. even made a batch with standard potatoes and those turned out great as well. Love the kick that this recipe has!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delafield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Turned out great! Cooking time was spot on for me. For me, 1/4 tsp of cayenne didn't make it too spicy - in fact it was more sweet to me & I might add more cayenne next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
As the title says, these were definately sweet and spicy. A bit too sweet and too spicy for my taste buds. I used sour cream to calm down the spice. Next time I will probably half the syrup and cayenne. It was a nice combination of flavors but it was just a bit overwhelming to me. Will make again with adjustments. Oh, I also used my mandolin slicer to ensure even slices. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Flavor was pretty good, the way to cook them was not. Next time I will do half with the cayenne and half without (to please everyone). I definitely wont do the 1/4 inch slices either, next time I'll try it in french fry form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Not bad. I don't think I cut the potatoes evenly because they weren't totally done... either that or it simply isn't enough cooking time. Another recipe I read is to cook at 400 for 40 minutes... that might be worth trying. Also, use REAL maple syrup - I tried Cary's and it didn't work so well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States