Spicy Sweet Potato Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Very tasty, though I avoided all but a pinch of cayenne because of the kids. A little too labor intensive for me and not enough bang for the buck. I think I'll try the EVOO and syrup combo next time I do baked sweet potato fries like I usually do them: cut into about 2.5 inch-long, 1/2-inch thick sticks. Husband and daughter prefer those to these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This was really good. I wish my potatoes would have chrisped up a bit more. I guess I should have cooked them a bit longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
For some reason, I can't get sweet potatoes to come out of the oven like they do when deep fried... They always come out limp and not like fries or chips at all... they still taste good, but I am going to give up on the idea that they will be like french fries. The flavor of these was good, a little too spicy for my family though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Mine never got crisp. Maybe I cut them too thick but I did cut them 1/4" as it said. They didn't crisp so I returned them to the oven for a few minutes and burned them. The whole house smelled for 2 days. I just don't think I have the patience for this recipe. It's too time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This recipe is SO simple I can remember it by heart. I love that it is fast, too. I hate waiting 30+ minutes for other oven fries recipes. I happen to always keep REAL pure maple syrup in the house.I wouldn't try this with "fake" syrup, but I suppose it would still taste ok. The combination of spicy and sweet is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
went great with talapia lime ceviche! was perfect! very quick and easy too. Carefull not to cut them too thick or they won't crisp. but slightly soft made for better scoops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sequim, Washington, USA
Living In: Silver Springs, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Never got cripsy. Cooked each side an additional 2 minutes on broil. Much better. Also added apple butter on top. MMMMMMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yeahman99

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Very good. Instead of sweet potatoes I used yams. I used a vegetable slicer and cut the yams very thin. I followed the regular way on how to cook them. I didn't put any cayenne pepper in the mix because I don't like things hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Royalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I halved the cayenne and thought that was a good heat level; any hotter and it would have been too much. I think those who enjoy their food spicy would be ok, but my hubby and I agreed that 1/8 tsp was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
these were awesome. Cooked perfectly and the whole family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States