Spicy Sweet Potato Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This was really good. I wish my potatoes would have chrisped up a bit more. I guess I should have cooked them a bit longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
For some reason, I can't get sweet potatoes to come out of the oven like they do when deep fried... They always come out limp and not like fries or chips at all... they still taste good, but I am going to give up on the idea that they will be like french fries. The flavor of these was good, a little too spicy for my family though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Mine never got crisp. Maybe I cut them too thick but I did cut them 1/4" as it said. They didn't crisp so I returned them to the oven for a few minutes and burned them. The whole house smelled for 2 days. I just don't think I have the patience for this recipe. It's too time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This recipe is SO simple I can remember it by heart. I love that it is fast, too. I hate waiting 30+ minutes for other oven fries recipes. I happen to always keep REAL pure maple syrup in the house.I wouldn't try this with "fake" syrup, but I suppose it would still taste ok. The combination of spicy and sweet is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
went great with talapia lime ceviche! was perfect! very quick and easy too. Carefull not to cut them too thick or they won't crisp. but slightly soft made for better scoops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sequim, Washington, USA
Living In: Silver Springs, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Never got cripsy. Cooked each side an additional 2 minutes on broil. Much better. Also added apple butter on top. MMMMMMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yeahman99

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Very good. Instead of sweet potatoes I used yams. I used a vegetable slicer and cut the yams very thin. I followed the regular way on how to cook them. I didn't put any cayenne pepper in the mix because I don't like things hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Royalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I halved the cayenne and thought that was a good heat level; any hotter and it would have been too much. I think those who enjoy their food spicy would be ok, but my hubby and I agreed that 1/8 tsp was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
these were awesome. Cooked perfectly and the whole family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Chips turned out very crispy and tasty. Next time I'll use half the amount of salt, and I used olive oil instead of butter. Instead of brushing the mixture on the chips, I shook the chips, oil & seasonings in a large baggie. For those who complained the chips were soggy or burned: First issue is that you have to slice these ridiculously thin - I used a chef's knife to do it. You have to watch them like a hawk to avoid burning. You have to turn them in the middle of cooking. You need to remove the ones that are thinner & cooking faster as they get crisp/brown, and you need to run the final ones that aren't yet crips under the broiler. I will make these again. Oh - I would cook at least double to get enough chips to make it worth your while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States