Spicy Sweet Potato Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Good wish I could have gotten them crispy though. Tried four times. Still good flavor and I did cut back on the red pepper to 1/4 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hank

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
flavor was good, but I couldn't get mine to crisp up :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
First of all, 450 degree oven is way too hot. The maple syrup burns. Second, in the time this recipe stated, you get overly blackened slices that doesn't even crisp up after they cooled. I tried a second tray in a 400 degree oven with better results, but they were still too soggy to be called a chip. I'm currently baking these in a 200 degree oven to dehydrate them and maybe, just maybe we can use them with a dip. Flavor wise, they are pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I loved it thanks for an awesome recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Because of food sensitivities, I replaced cayenne and maple syrup with cinnamon. I stirred the thin slices in the oil/sea salt/cinnamon mixture until coated, and then cooked as per the instructions. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomCat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I was not afan of sweet potatoes untlil my sister-in-law tricked me into eating Sweet Patatoe Souffle'. I absolutely love french fried sweet ptatoes so I wanted to try these because they are baked. i used half of maple syrup the 2nd time I made these....perfect. Also I put my fries on a rack and the rack on my cookie sheet andthey were realy crisp. YUM, yum, yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicalu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Though I like spicy foods, the cayenne didn't sound appetizing to me in this recipe. So I substituted cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg and these turned out so scrumptious even my husband, who does not like sweet potatoes, enjoyed these chips. Super delicious and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
The maple syrup gives it a hard candy type feel and there arent enough spices for it to actually be spicy. very dissapointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
What a wonderful recipe! I truly enjoyed it. I used brown sugar, instead of the maple sugar and it turned out perfectly. Some of the chips came out a bit soggy while other came out crispy, but nonetheless all taste super yummy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
OMG! I don't even like sweet potatoes! I get a weekly local organic produce delivery and sometimes I get stuff that I am not hugely fond of. This recipe has changed my opinion of sweet potatoes. I did omit the maple syrup as the potato itself is very sweet. I baked for a few extra minutes on either side and viola! My BF loved it to. A nice side dish to some stir fry veggies and quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States