Spicy Sweet Potato Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I used half the amount of cayenne pepper which was enough for us. The flavor was very good, however although I increased the baking time, it needed much more time. I ended up putting it back in the oven and baking for an additional 20 minutes, turning them over once again until lightly browned. I never quite got the consistency I was hoping for, but they were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Lisa LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
These were delicious! I'd put less time in both sides as they burned
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
The whole family loves these. I use a regular pan and put them in for 30 total minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This was a waste of time. My chips were soggy even though they were paper thin and the flavour was just weak. Will not make this again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
These were very good and easy to make. I will definitely make them again, but I will not add cayenne pepper anymore...too spicy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I really like these the taste was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Awesome! I misjudged the amount of sweet potatoes in 3 large as I had one huge one. I could have made double the amount of potatoes, but we both absolutely loved it. They took longer that the time posted, but my oven is iffy so no big deal. Will I make these again. Yes!!!! I did use sea salt instead of regular salt. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
My family loved it! My reluctant teenage son was soon eating them out of the serving dish like french fries. After reading the reviews of soggy results I decided to cook the potatoes at 425 degrees convection for ten minutes each side. Also, I have read other sweet potato fry recipes where adding corn starch to increase crispiness was recommended. So I cut the potatoes, lightly sprinkled with corn starch and then tossed in a bowl. I mixed the syrup, olive oil and cayenne pepper and a little sea salt in a separate small bowl. Then I poured this mixture over the potatoes and tossed with my hands until evenly coated. I put the sliced potatoes flat on a cookie sheet covered with aluminum foil and sprayed with Pam, then baked as above. Easy clean up. All the original ingredients, just a slight change in the preparation and baking. They were delicious! This will become a staple. P.S. I used a crinkle cutter to slice potatoes which I believe helped them to crisp up also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I liked the flavor of these chips but they were too soggy. I put them under the broiler after baking and they still were too soggy, so I left them in a 180-degree convention oven for 2 hours. Huge disappointment, will not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States