Spicy Sweet Potato and Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
A great comfort food for a cold day! I roughly mashed the sweet potatoes before adding them to the soup for thickness and texture - my husband and I loved every bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Grove, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
So easy and delicious. I followed the recipe (but didn't have sesame oil or cilantro), then pureed it and topped with a dollop of yogurt. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
YUMMY! To make it quicker and easier I boiled 4 cups of chicken stock with 2 sweet pots and 1 sweet onion, chunked up, and the sliced ginger. Once the veggies were soft, I used an immersion blender and pureed until creamy. Then added the coconut milk, red curry, salt (I used a little less than 1 tsp) and about 1/4 tsp of cayenne 'cause I like it spicy. SUPER GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This soup improved while eating, but started out very disappointing given the rave reviews. We ate it with buttered bread and that helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I made this several weeks ago and am making it again! It is very addictive! Because I made so much the first time, I froze it in individual containers to take to work. I used the blender to make it very creamy. I did not put the cilantro in before freezing, just added it when I reheated. I was apprehensive about freezing this, but it was fantastic and still creamy, not grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Port Monmouth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This soup was ok. However, you definitely don't taste the sweet potato with all the spices, which is what I was hoping for. Probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
What a hit! This soup smelled so good while it was simmering, my husband wanted to dive right in the pot! I used low-fat coconut milk, grated the ginger on a Microplane instead of slicing it, and used a box of chicken broth instead of veggie broth. I used an immersion blender to halfway puree it, but also left some pieces of potato for a nice texture. Thanks for the recipe---we all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Great. I made for Thanksgiving 2009. Huge hit, except for Mom who doesn't like spicy. I made about 3 hours early, and placed in crock pot on warm until time for Thanksgiving dinner, stirring occasionally. Added cilantro at last minute. Huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
This is sooo good and so easy to make. I blended it up in my vitamix to make it nice and creamy. A new favorite and just in time for cold winter evenings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States