Spicy Sweet Potato and Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
So easy and delicious. I followed the recipe (but didn't have sesame oil or cilantro), then pureed it and topped with a dollop of yogurt. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
YUMMY! To make it quicker and easier I boiled 4 cups of chicken stock with 2 sweet pots and 1 sweet onion, chunked up, and the sliced ginger. Once the veggies were soft, I used an immersion blender and pureed until creamy. Then added the coconut milk, red curry, salt (I used a little less than 1 tsp) and about 1/4 tsp of cayenne 'cause I like it spicy. SUPER GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This soup improved while eating, but started out very disappointing given the rave reviews. We ate it with buttered bread and that helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I made this several weeks ago and am making it again! It is very addictive! Because I made so much the first time, I froze it in individual containers to take to work. I used the blender to make it very creamy. I did not put the cilantro in before freezing, just added it when I reheated. I was apprehensive about freezing this, but it was fantastic and still creamy, not grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Port Monmouth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This soup was ok. However, you definitely don't taste the sweet potato with all the spices, which is what I was hoping for. Probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
What a hit! This soup smelled so good while it was simmering, my husband wanted to dive right in the pot! I used low-fat coconut milk, grated the ginger on a Microplane instead of slicing it, and used a box of chicken broth instead of veggie broth. I used an immersion blender to halfway puree it, but also left some pieces of potato for a nice texture. Thanks for the recipe---we all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Great. I made for Thanksgiving 2009. Huge hit, except for Mom who doesn't like spicy. I made about 3 hours early, and placed in crock pot on warm until time for Thanksgiving dinner, stirring occasionally. Added cilantro at last minute. Huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
This is sooo good and so easy to make. I blended it up in my vitamix to make it nice and creamy. A new favorite and just in time for cold winter evenings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This was *fantastic*!! I will definitely be making this again. Next time I'll try adding some extra firm tofu. I peeled and chopped the potatoes before roasting to get some nice color and roasted flavor. I tossed them in a very small amount of vegetable oil to prevent sticking/burning. I also grated the ginger as I didn't want to bite into a chunk of ginger. I didn't need the whole teaspoon of salt, I only added about 1/2 teaspoon and it was plenty. And like the other reviewers, I don't think it needs the sesame oil. But the freshness of the cilantro was a nice finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States