Spicy Sweet Potato and Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Super yummy with an asian flare! I used the mae ploy red curry paste with an additional 1/2 serving. It made it a bitmore spicey. I put a little too much fresh ginger...I will pay more attention to detail next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I made this soup for the first time and it was delicious! I made a few changes. Instead of using lemon juice, I used lime (I feel this goes well with curries). I also added sesame oil while cooking which added more depth. I blended all of the veggies with the stock with a hand blender before adding the cocnut milk. I also added cilantro during the last few minutes of cooking and then removed it to add extra "thai" flavour. I will be making this again for sure! Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Love this soup! Just finished making and I may just eat the whole pot before dinner. I did make a few changes. Added carrots and celery with the onion. Also used ground cumin, ground ginger, turmeric and paprika. Also added lemon zest and lemon juice. And used chicken broth instead of veggie broth because that's what I had. It's so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
very good. I used cubes of butternut squash instead of sweet potato because it's what I had on hand and it's delish. I also used fish sauce instead of the salt. The crazy thing is that you don't taste the sweet potatoes (or squash) at all - it just tastes like a thai dish. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Maybe I need to get accustomed to the taste, but I did not like this at all. Curry and sweet potato, not for me. btw I followed the recipe except for the curry paste, used reviewer suggestions of using curry powder and other seasonings. Maybe that had a lot to do with the taste. Will not try again, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Signal Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Absolutely FANTASTIC!!! I love coconut milk, sweet potatoes, and curry, so there was really no way I could dislike this recipe! I omitted the cilantro and sesame oil - really wasn't needed. I used a mix of white-flesh sweet potatoes and yams (what I had on hand), and added 1 tsp of cumin, chili powder, and cayanne (for that extra kick.) Ate with warm naan bread. Seriously amazing - my boyfriend loved it as well!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I really enjoyed this soup and it was very easy to make. Perfect for something a little unique on a cool evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
fantastic flavor and super quick. this is definitely a keeper. i grated the ginger and sauteed it, along with the onions, in coconut oil. followed the rest of the recipe exactly. tossed in some shitake mushrooms that i didn't want to go bad. super yummy!! and vegan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Absolutely wonderful. My 2 tweaks: The 1T sesame oil was a bit much -- I'd probably just do 1tsp next time. I added 2 cloves of garlic. Love, love, love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lolastorm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Not all that good. I belded mine with a hand mixer and it reminded me too much of baby food afterwards. My boyfriend didn't like it at all and we are both big fans of red curry and yams seperately. He said "you shouldn't have added carrots", which i didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 51-60 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Grilled Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

Check out this cool way to make potato chips!

Grilled Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

Check out this cool way to make potato chips!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States