Spicy Sweet Potato and Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Maybe I need to get accustomed to the taste, but I did not like this at all. Curry and sweet potato, not for me. btw I followed the recipe except for the curry paste, used reviewer suggestions of using curry powder and other seasonings. Maybe that had a lot to do with the taste. Will not try again, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Signal Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Absolutely FANTASTIC!!! I love coconut milk, sweet potatoes, and curry, so there was really no way I could dislike this recipe! I omitted the cilantro and sesame oil - really wasn't needed. I used a mix of white-flesh sweet potatoes and yams (what I had on hand), and added 1 tsp of cumin, chili powder, and cayanne (for that extra kick.) Ate with warm naan bread. Seriously amazing - my boyfriend loved it as well!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I really enjoyed this soup and it was very easy to make. Perfect for something a little unique on a cool evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
fantastic flavor and super quick. this is definitely a keeper. i grated the ginger and sauteed it, along with the onions, in coconut oil. followed the rest of the recipe exactly. tossed in some shitake mushrooms that i didn't want to go bad. super yummy!! and vegan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Absolutely wonderful. My 2 tweaks: The 1T sesame oil was a bit much -- I'd probably just do 1tsp next time. I added 2 cloves of garlic. Love, love, love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lolastorm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Not all that good. I belded mine with a hand mixer and it reminded me too much of baby food afterwards. My boyfriend didn't like it at all and we are both big fans of red curry and yams seperately. He said "you shouldn't have added carrots", which i didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
What a great and easy soup! I used the super fast method and substitution for curry paste and fresh ginger shared by PAROGIRL. I left some of the skin on the sweet potato and only used my potato masher, did not put in blender as I like a bit of texture. Will for sure make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Excellent flavour. To save on time, I microwaved the sweet potato instead of baking it. Next time I would consider blending some of the potato so that it's not only chunks. Instead of doing the onion in vegetable oil and then adding more oil later, I sautéed the onion in the sesame oil. I was out of ginger so I used ginger powder instead, which worked fine. I might use chicken broth and add a bit of chicken next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I modified yet I am sure the original recipe will taste good. i had some pumpkin and carrots lying around, so I used those. I realized late that I was out of curry paste so I ended up puyiing Indian Masalas like turmeric, cayene, coriander powder and Garam Masala. Turned out well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Absolutely delicious, although I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I used less coconut to keep it a bit healthier, used extra curry paste, added about a teaspoon of garlic to the onions, used fish sauce instead of salt, use the juice of one lime instead of the lemon juice, and didn't add the cilantro or sesame oil. I simmered the sweet potato in the broth for several hours making it a bit thicker, but still with hunks of sweet potato. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States