Spicy Sweet Potato and Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Delicious! However, it wasn't spicy enough for me. I doubled the curry paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This was not our favourite sweet potato soup. I followed the recipe exactly as written. We love thai food, but were disappointed by the flavour of this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I LOVED this. Totally authentic and totally thai. I boiled my sweet potato's and also added a 1 can of sweet potato's. I used 2 limes and some lemon juice. I also added more red curry paste. I did not puree this like some had suggested, and I don't find it necessary either. I would think that leaving it as is gives it a better texture. I also added cooked shrimp and it went perfectly. The toasted sesame oil was a great garnish, it really added a warmth to the dish. Don't forget to top it off with the cilantro... DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Yummy, I used Parogirl's modifications to make it faster...very savory and easy to make. My bf hates coconut so I didn't mention it was in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debaser
Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This is GREAT! Only change -- I used chicken broth instead of veggie broth. I also grated the ginger. Very easy to make and impressive for dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This recipe was super easy to make and my family enjoyed it. I used a little too much curry paste and it got a little spicy. However the flavor was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Great recipe made even better with a little tweaking. I added some galangal root and a few kaffir lime leaves while it simmered-- that really added a lot of depth and flavor. Next time I will use lime juice instead of lemon for a more authentic Thai flavor. Would also be great with some shrimp or crab stirred in at the end. L
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I followed the recipe and thought it had amazing flavor. Instead of leaving the sweet potato cubed, while in the soup I mashed it. After the soup sat for about 3 to 5 minutes the consistency was thicker. I agree that you must get the sesame oil and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Great soup. I made the soup quicker and easier by peeling/dicing the potatoes and adding them to the broth to boil until tender. I threw in some onions to boil too. I then added seasonings, coconut milk and served. YUMMY! Definitely somthing different to bring to the dinner table. My kids liked it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I didn't have any cilantro but this will still great. I used coconut cream because it's more flavorful, and trust me, this is quite the satisfying soup. Very hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States