Spicy Sweet Potato and Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
This was great. I actually forgot to add the oil and lemon and it was still wonderful - and rather healthy, since I used lite coconut milk. I just rough chopped the onions and ginger, scooped out the cooked potato, and pureed the whole finished product in my food processer. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Montrose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
WOW!!! My husband doesn't even like sweet potatos and he thought it was pretty great. I followed some of the other reviwers suggestions and pureed it at the end and used lime jouce and soy sauce instead of fish sauce to make it vegan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I don't know what I did wrong but this was definitely lacking. The sweet potato did not add to the dish at all and I would leave it out all together next time. I also added shrimp and scallops. I used a combo of green and red curry paste so it wasn't too hot for others to eat but I also added sriachi sauce and did not get that hot...I added more to my own bowl. I served over sticky rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I made this recipe with chicken brother and without sesame oil (I couldn't justify $8 for a tablespoon of something I'd never use again). This was definitely not the kind of food I would eat, it was a very unique taste. However, the other person I made this dish for LOVED it. She couldn't stop raving about it and due to the fact I didn't care that much for its taste, insisted she take home the leftovers (and the curry paste)! This was definitely a unique recipe and aside from all the prep work (chopping up vegetables), insanely easy to make. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Delicious soup! We made it for friends who are vegetarian and they have made it three times since then!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Everyone loved this - even my husband who never eats soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This soup is delicious. I followed another reviewer's tips and used fish sauce and lime juice. I puréed it in the blender after it had cooled a bit and did it in batches. The soup has a beautiful colour and flavour when it's done. Definitely use fresh ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
good, but not great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This was my first try of this soup and it came out great. I used chicken broth rather than vegetable broth but and my boyfriend and sister who both love Thai food thought it tasted very authentic and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I agree with the majority that this is 5 star. I did use lime juice, and fish sauce as recommended by another reviewer. I only had curry powder so used it and added chili garlic sauce for a little heat. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States