Spicy Sweet Potato and Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I LOVED this. Totally authentic and totally thai. I boiled my sweet potato's and also added a 1 can of sweet potato's. I used 2 limes and some lemon juice. I also added more red curry paste. I did not puree this like some had suggested, and I don't find it necessary either. I would think that leaving it as is gives it a better texture. I also added cooked shrimp and it went perfectly. The toasted sesame oil was a great garnish, it really added a warmth to the dish. Don't forget to top it off with the cilantro... DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Yummy, I used Parogirl's modifications to make it faster...very savory and easy to make. My bf hates coconut so I didn't mention it was in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debaser
Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This is GREAT! Only change -- I used chicken broth instead of veggie broth. I also grated the ginger. Very easy to make and impressive for dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This recipe was super easy to make and my family enjoyed it. I used a little too much curry paste and it got a little spicy. However the flavor was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Great recipe made even better with a little tweaking. I added some galangal root and a few kaffir lime leaves while it simmered-- that really added a lot of depth and flavor. Next time I will use lime juice instead of lemon for a more authentic Thai flavor. Would also be great with some shrimp or crab stirred in at the end. L
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I followed the recipe and thought it had amazing flavor. Instead of leaving the sweet potato cubed, while in the soup I mashed it. After the soup sat for about 3 to 5 minutes the consistency was thicker. I agree that you must get the sesame oil and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Great soup. I made the soup quicker and easier by peeling/dicing the potatoes and adding them to the broth to boil until tender. I threw in some onions to boil too. I then added seasonings, coconut milk and served. YUMMY! Definitely somthing different to bring to the dinner table. My kids liked it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I didn't have any cilantro but this will still great. I used coconut cream because it's more flavorful, and trust me, this is quite the satisfying soup. Very hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
This is a very tasty soup! I didn't have ginger root so substituted with 1 T of ginger powder. Also only had 1 C of vegetable broth so I added 2 cups of water and 3 bullion cubes. Even my baby loves it, will definitely save this and make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I've made this a few times now varying it a little and found I prefer the original recipe and putting half in the blender so it's thicker but still chunky. This has become a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States