Spicy Sweet Potato and Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I added only coconut milk and water, because I was out of veggie broth, and it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
So good! I've just started a paleo diet and this is easily adjusted to paleo (used olive oil not veg. oil). I used chicken broth in place of veg., lime juice instead of lemon, skipped ginger and cilantro and also added some Cajun seasoning. My husband loved it even without meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is delicious! Be sure not to skip the cilantro garnish, it adds a wonderful flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I really enjoyed the soup and was pleasantly surprised with the taste. There were a few things I omitted bc I didn't have it or chose not to use it; cilantro, sesame oil and substitute vegetable broth and used chicken broth. I'll definitely have this soup again; however, I'll take the advice of another reviewer and be sure to shave the "hairs" from the fresh ginger or even use ginger paste to give that flavor that only it has. I wasn't sure how the ginger would be being that it was still in the soup, but it actually had a mellow flavor and wasn't as pungent as I thought it'd be. Oh yeah, i used my last 2 tbsp of lemon juice so the third was lime bc i like how lime marries with Asian dishes. Great recipe in spite of the subtle changes I made..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael B.
Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Upper Marlboro, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I followed the recipe to the letter and ended up with a disappointing vat of bland unpleasant liquid. I ended up creaming it and adding a lot of other ingredients to make it edible. Not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monique

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Amazing recipe. I also added a small can of creamed corn and did as suggested by some and blended at least halp of the sweet potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This soup was incredible! Really one of the best soups I've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by snowhiker7
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Everyone loved this soup. The sesame oil and cilantro was just the finishing touch necessary to top it off. It's definitely good without it, but you don't know what you're missing if you don't add it. Super easy to prepare. I too put it in the blender at the end and it worked perfectly. Will be a permanent fixture in my comfort foods directory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
this I will make over and over again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunnysets
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
One of my all time faves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States