Spicy Summer Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
I didn't like this at all, but I'm not a big tomato or pepper fan. Everyone else who tried it thought it was good. It needed more flavor though, than what the recipes calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
My family loves this recipe. I has become a staple at family gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
this made a great (and quick) weeknight meal. as usual i made modifications: i sauteed the peppers with a diced onion and two cloves of minced garlic, then added the wine viegar and olive oil to the pan for a minute, then tossed everything with the warm pasta and added the tomato to the bowl. i doubled the chili powder to make it spicier, and also added cooked chicken pieces to the end to make it a full meal. worked incredibly well, thanks for a great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I altered the recipe for the ingredients I had on hand Added: 2 cans of albacore tuna, drained juice of one can into water for pasta 1 can of garbanzo beans, drained juice into water for pasta Substituted macaroni for rotelli, boiled in salted water with a tablespoon of oil to keep pasta from sticking, stir occasionally until al dente, then drained in cold water. 1 cup of green olives with pimiento, drained 1 half pepper each of red, green and orange bell peppers, chopped into small cubes 1 cup of Dukes mayonaisse, if you don't have Dukes then you need to move farther south! Substituted 8oz of monterey jack for the mozzarella 1 small yellow onion, diced Just a dash of red wine vinegar, maybe a little more. Same with the EVOO. Added black pepper and oregano to taste. Mixed everything and chilled. It's probably not even the same recipe but SAL inspired me. That is what gets 5 stars from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shrimpstuffedmanicott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I made a couple modifications, I used balsamic instead of the red wine, and after reading a couple reviews I also sauted some onion and garlic and onion together. Also used roasted red peppers along with red pepper flakes since I am out of chili powder. I thought it was excellent and the original recipe is a good one for branching off of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
Tasty, I like things spicy so I tripled the chile. It was a bit to much chile but I will make again next summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
Tasty. The chili powder and red wine vinegar combo definitely is quite a flavor contrast in my mind, but it turned out pretty good! I doubled (at least) the chili powder, added some cumin, black pepper, and garlic salt to the dressing. My biggest recommendation is to use very fresh, very ripe tomatoes for the best flavor. Also, might even be better to cube the mozzarella cheese instead of shredding it. The shreds just sort of blended in, I was hoping for a stonger cheese flavor. Overall, great pasta salad...even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
Tasty. Maybe it will be more flavourful by tomorrow when it has a chance to sit. I added a jalapeno, a can of black eyed peas and I used cubed sharp cheddar cheese. It was light and refreshing for summer. I will try it tomorrow and will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieLovinHippie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This was a very tasty salad... after I added some additional spices:) I did red, green, and orange bell peppers; diced tomatoes w/ jalapeños; extra chili powder, cayenne pepper, cajun seasoning and spicy all spice. I used chunks of jalapeño cheddar instead of mozzarella and used the suggestion on pine nuts. This was really delicious even the first night so I can't wait to taste it tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marquisg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Looks really good. I plan to add black olives, garlic, maybe onions &/or celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patsy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Antipasto Pasta Salad

This salad combines meat, cheese, veggies, and pasta into a picnic delight.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States