Spicy Summer Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
this made a great (and quick) weeknight meal. as usual i made modifications: i sauteed the peppers with a diced onion and two cloves of minced garlic, then added the wine viegar and olive oil to the pan for a minute, then tossed everything with the warm pasta and added the tomato to the bowl. i doubled the chili powder to make it spicier, and also added cooked chicken pieces to the end to make it a full meal. worked incredibly well, thanks for a great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
Tasty. The chili powder and red wine vinegar combo definitely is quite a flavor contrast in my mind, but it turned out pretty good! I doubled (at least) the chili powder, added some cumin, black pepper, and garlic salt to the dressing. My biggest recommendation is to use very fresh, very ripe tomatoes for the best flavor. Also, might even be better to cube the mozzarella cheese instead of shredding it. The shreds just sort of blended in, I was hoping for a stonger cheese flavor. Overall, great pasta salad...even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
The merging of the vinegar and the chili powder flavor made for a nice change-of-taste dressing but even though I made more than the recipe called for, I thought the salad was rather dry, especially on the second day. I left the red pepper and tomato chunks large because I like the contrast of shapes, textures and colors and I think I'd prefer the cheese in chunks also instead of shredded, but didn't have any so left it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This was a very tasty salad... after I added some additional spices:) I did red, green, and orange bell peppers; diced tomatoes w/ jalapeños; extra chili powder, cayenne pepper, cajun seasoning and spicy all spice. I used chunks of jalapeño cheddar instead of mozzarella and used the suggestion on pine nuts. This was really delicious even the first night so I can't wait to taste it tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marquisg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
I didn't like this at all, but I'm not a big tomato or pepper fan. Everyone else who tried it thought it was good. It needed more flavor though, than what the recipes calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
Tasty, I like things spicy so I tripled the chile. It was a bit to much chile but I will make again next summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Good but not very spicy... the chili powder gives it a more smoky flavor rather than spicy. i marinated some shrimp in olive oil and chili powder for a few hours then sauteed them and added them to the pasta before chilling. the shrimp adds a nice touch i thought. next time i will add cayanne or some chili's maybe to give it that extra kick ( i like things spicy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
I thought this was pretty good. I used Cavatappi, or corkscrew pasta. I only had a green bell pepper, so I used about five serrano peppers, some yellow and some red, for color as well as enhanced spice. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
BLAND!!!!! This one did not go over well. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Not really spicy and I added a lot more chili powder and cayenne powder and reduced the amount of tomatoes by one or two. It was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States