Spicy Summer Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Looks really good. I plan to add black olives, garlic, maybe onions &/or celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patsy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I made a couple modifications, I used balsamic instead of the red wine, and after reading a couple reviews I also sauted some onion and garlic and onion together. Also used roasted red peppers along with red pepper flakes since I am out of chili powder. I thought it was excellent and the original recipe is a good one for branching off of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Good but not very spicy... the chili powder gives it a more smoky flavor rather than spicy. i marinated some shrimp in olive oil and chili powder for a few hours then sauteed them and added them to the pasta before chilling. the shrimp adds a nice touch i thought. next time i will add cayanne or some chili's maybe to give it that extra kick ( i like things spicy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Not really spicy and I added a lot more chili powder and cayenne powder and reduced the amount of tomatoes by one or two. It was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
This salad was dry and was even more so the next day. Red wine vinegar was overpowered by chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reddoerr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This was a very tasty salad... after I added some additional spices:) I did red, green, and orange bell peppers; diced tomatoes w/ jalapeños; extra chili powder, cayenne pepper, cajun seasoning and spicy all spice. I used chunks of jalapeño cheddar instead of mozzarella and used the suggestion on pine nuts. This was really delicious even the first night so I can't wait to taste it tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marquisg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
try pine nuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I altered the recipe for the ingredients I had on hand Added: 2 cans of albacore tuna, drained juice of one can into water for pasta 1 can of garbanzo beans, drained juice into water for pasta Substituted macaroni for rotelli, boiled in salted water with a tablespoon of oil to keep pasta from sticking, stir occasionally until al dente, then drained in cold water. 1 cup of green olives with pimiento, drained 1 half pepper each of red, green and orange bell peppers, chopped into small cubes 1 cup of Dukes mayonaisse, if you don't have Dukes then you need to move farther south! Substituted 8oz of monterey jack for the mozzarella 1 small yellow onion, diced Just a dash of red wine vinegar, maybe a little more. Same with the EVOO. Added black pepper and oregano to taste. Mixed everything and chilled. It's probably not even the same recipe but SAL inspired me. That is what gets 5 stars from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shrimpstuffedmanicott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, North Carolina, USA
Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
The merging of the vinegar and the chili powder flavor made for a nice change-of-taste dressing but even though I made more than the recipe called for, I thought the salad was rather dry, especially on the second day. I left the red pepper and tomato chunks large because I like the contrast of shapes, textures and colors and I think I'd prefer the cheese in chunks also instead of shredded, but didn't have any so left it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Just not very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Antipasto Pasta Salad

This salad combines meat, cheese, veggies, and pasta into a picnic delight.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States