Spicy Stuffed Squid Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This was fantastic, prep time was quite a bit longer than 45min the the favors and combinations were spot on. I'm going to make this again for company
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Excellent! I followed the recipe, but I think next time I'll make a thicker sauce rather than the marinara type as listed. Just a personal preference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hubbard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Amazing flavor. A bit chewyu, but not unpleasantly so. Next time will reduce either cooking time or heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
EXCELLENT! As others have said, this recipe makes the squid VERY tender. Cut with a fork, easy to chew, and flavorful! Recipe withstands tweaking well. Usually I try to follow the recipe as written the first time, but I had to make due with what I had on hand. I used a whole grain/wild rice blend instead of white rice and it came out great (whole rice tends to not mush like white does). Didn't have anchovy paste, used hoisin paste instead (the only "paste" I had) and it still came out wonderful. Used craisins instead of raisins and sliced almonds instead of pinenuts. Would be better with pinenuts (what isnt?), but still gave it a good crunch. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
OH, MY, GOD! Soooooo amazing. This recipe was delicious. I had 8 Squids and I am so glad I did, cuz we all went crazy over this. The sauce was so flavorful. I used Cabernet instead of white and my house smelled amazing while this was cooking. Reminded me of my Vovo's kitchen... very Portuguese smelling/tasting to me. I followed the recipe with the following changes: I had no pine nuts to add... I added peas to the rice instead I used cab instead white wine (used 3/4 cup too) doubled the amount of squid (8 total) added a little marinara sauce to insure the squid were covered (plenty of sauce, though, but psyched to have so much left over) I think I'll use a little less anchovy because of the added salt, tough call though, cuz the flavor is so good! Hours later, we are still raving and this house smells so good! TRY IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
this tastest wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
This was spectacular! I used already cleaned squid. I didn't have stewed tomatoes so I used diced canned tomatoes and I didn't have anchovy paste but I did have a can of anchovies so I took 4 of them and just smushed them up. The little bit of sweet and spicy was wonderful. Don't be overwhelmed by the ingredient list, it was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
I also added dried cranberries with raisins to the rice. Made it for my girlfriend and she loved it. Great and pretty simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
Followed this recipe except my clean & frozen squid bodies didn't have tentacles to chop. I chopped some end pieces and mixed them into the stuffing, but it added nothing. Maybe tentacles would have added some chew, but really unnecessary. I was blown away how good this simple sauce was and can't wait to apply it to pasta dishes. My wife said we should make this for company. Could be a tough sell over the phone. "I bought too much squid. How about coming over..." Don't cut the cooking time short or the squid will be tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
You defiantly need large squid because the little ones fall apart. It is very GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Stuffed and Rolled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make pork tenderloin stuffed with herbs, garlic, and currants.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States