Spicy Stuffed Squid Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
This was spectacular! I used already cleaned squid. I didn't have stewed tomatoes so I used diced canned tomatoes and I didn't have anchovy paste but I did have a can of anchovies so I took 4 of them and just smushed them up. The little bit of sweet and spicy was wonderful. Don't be overwhelmed by the ingredient list, it was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
Followed this recipe except my clean & frozen squid bodies didn't have tentacles to chop. I chopped some end pieces and mixed them into the stuffing, but it added nothing. Maybe tentacles would have added some chew, but really unnecessary. I was blown away how good this simple sauce was and can't wait to apply it to pasta dishes. My wife said we should make this for company. Could be a tough sell over the phone. "I bought too much squid. How about coming over..." Don't cut the cooking time short or the squid will be tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Very good. You have to use thicker squid. One was thick and held well. The other was thin and broke during cooking. Fun recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Great dish. I am a squid lover so am biased. The surprising result from cooking in the oven in this style is that the squid is amazingly tender. All who try it are amazed it is squid because of the tenderness. I bought the squid frozen from the grocery freezer and thaw as needed. The thicker the squid - the better for this recipe. Get some italian bread -- the spicy tomato sauce deserves to be dipped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Excellent! I followed the recipe, but I think next time I'll make a thicker sauce rather than the marinara type as listed. Just a personal preference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hubbard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I made this for Christmas eve as we had an ethnic theme. This covered the category for portuguese and italian main dish. Next time I will find larger squid as the smaller ones were time consuming and difficult to stuff. My family was hesitant to try them but there were hardly any left. I loved the combination of ingrediants and would make again. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NainInCandia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
this tastest wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
OH, MY, GOD! Soooooo amazing. This recipe was delicious. I had 8 Squids and I am so glad I did, cuz we all went crazy over this. The sauce was so flavorful. I used Cabernet instead of white and my house smelled amazing while this was cooking. Reminded me of my Vovo's kitchen... very Portuguese smelling/tasting to me. I followed the recipe with the following changes: I had no pine nuts to add... I added peas to the rice instead I used cab instead white wine (used 3/4 cup too) doubled the amount of squid (8 total) added a little marinara sauce to insure the squid were covered (plenty of sauce, though, but psyched to have so much left over) I think I'll use a little less anchovy because of the added salt, tough call though, cuz the flavor is so good! Hours later, we are still raving and this house smells so good! TRY IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Cooked rice will only expand and get mushy after baking for an hour. (Perhaps dry bread crumbs is better.) And the squid is way too chewy and inedible. Sorry but to be fair since the other reviews were the only reason I tried this recipe. We basically had to throw it out and eat leftovers. A good concept that needs a lot of tweaking - which I dare not try for fear of wasted ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
EXCELLENT! As others have said, this recipe makes the squid VERY tender. Cut with a fork, easy to chew, and flavorful! Recipe withstands tweaking well. Usually I try to follow the recipe as written the first time, but I had to make due with what I had on hand. I used a whole grain/wild rice blend instead of white rice and it came out great (whole rice tends to not mush like white does). Didn't have anchovy paste, used hoisin paste instead (the only "paste" I had) and it still came out wonderful. Used craisins instead of raisins and sliced almonds instead of pinenuts. Would be better with pinenuts (what isnt?), but still gave it a good crunch. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Stuffed and Rolled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make pork tenderloin stuffed with herbs, garlic, and currants.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States