Spicy Stuffed Squid Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I made this for the 7 fishes Christmas eve dinner and it was very well received. I was really suprised that the squid was so tender! I guess baking it for that long takes away the "rubbery" texture. I thought the sauce was much too spicy, so I had to add a can of tomato sauce to tone it down which helped. I wasn't overly wowed with the stuffing. I will definitely search for a different stuffing recipe, but use this method of baking the squid because the texture was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
You defiantly need large squid because the little ones fall apart. It is very GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
Followed this recipe except my clean & frozen squid bodies didn't have tentacles to chop. I chopped some end pieces and mixed them into the stuffing, but it added nothing. Maybe tentacles would have added some chew, but really unnecessary. I was blown away how good this simple sauce was and can't wait to apply it to pasta dishes. My wife said we should make this for company. Could be a tough sell over the phone. "I bought too much squid. How about coming over..." Don't cut the cooking time short or the squid will be tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Cooked rice will only expand and get mushy after baking for an hour. (Perhaps dry bread crumbs is better.) And the squid is way too chewy and inedible. Sorry but to be fair since the other reviews were the only reason I tried this recipe. We basically had to throw it out and eat leftovers. A good concept that needs a lot of tweaking - which I dare not try for fear of wasted ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Very good. You have to use thicker squid. One was thick and held well. The other was thin and broke during cooking. Fun recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
I also added dried cranberries with raisins to the rice. Made it for my girlfriend and she loved it. Great and pretty simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
This was spectacular! I used already cleaned squid. I didn't have stewed tomatoes so I used diced canned tomatoes and I didn't have anchovy paste but I did have a can of anchovies so I took 4 of them and just smushed them up. The little bit of sweet and spicy was wonderful. Don't be overwhelmed by the ingredient list, it was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
this tastest wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States