Spicy Stuffed Squid Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This is an excellence base recipe to start with very easy to tweak it. I added a few things to add some extra flavour. First I didn't have any pine nuts, so I subsisted slivered almonds. when I added sauteed the onion and garlic for the rice I also roasted the nuts and added mushrooms. In the tomato sauce I added fresh basil and used less anchovie paste. I cooked up the squid separate in a frying pan with a bit of oil. then just assemble the food on my plate as i ate. very delish, i would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amber.blundon1989

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Amazing flavor. A bit chewyu, but not unpleasantly so. Next time will reduce either cooking time or heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This was fantastic, prep time was quite a bit longer than 45min the the favors and combinations were spot on. I'm going to make this again for company
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
OH, MY, GOD! Soooooo amazing. This recipe was delicious. I had 8 Squids and I am so glad I did, cuz we all went crazy over this. The sauce was so flavorful. I used Cabernet instead of white and my house smelled amazing while this was cooking. Reminded me of my Vovo's kitchen... very Portuguese smelling/tasting to me. I followed the recipe with the following changes: I had no pine nuts to add... I added peas to the rice instead I used cab instead white wine (used 3/4 cup too) doubled the amount of squid (8 total) added a little marinara sauce to insure the squid were covered (plenty of sauce, though, but psyched to have so much left over) I think I'll use a little less anchovy because of the added salt, tough call though, cuz the flavor is so good! Hours later, we are still raving and this house smells so good! TRY IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I made this for Christmas eve as we had an ethnic theme. This covered the category for portuguese and italian main dish. Next time I will find larger squid as the smaller ones were time consuming and difficult to stuff. My family was hesitant to try them but there were hardly any left. I loved the combination of ingrediants and would make again. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NainInCandia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
EXCELLENT! As others have said, this recipe makes the squid VERY tender. Cut with a fork, easy to chew, and flavorful! Recipe withstands tweaking well. Usually I try to follow the recipe as written the first time, but I had to make due with what I had on hand. I used a whole grain/wild rice blend instead of white rice and it came out great (whole rice tends to not mush like white does). Didn't have anchovy paste, used hoisin paste instead (the only "paste" I had) and it still came out wonderful. Used craisins instead of raisins and sliced almonds instead of pinenuts. Would be better with pinenuts (what isnt?), but still gave it a good crunch. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Fantastic , As fresh squid are readily available and at a reasonable price at the fish markets and supermarkets in Southern Portugal, I have tried it twice now in the last two weeks, and recommend it, I use chilli flakes instead of red pepper flakes as i like things to be spicy, mmmmh! very filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Frying Scotsman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunfermline, Fife, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Great dish. I am a squid lover so am biased. The surprising result from cooking in the oven in this style is that the squid is amazingly tender. All who try it are amazed it is squid because of the tenderness. I bought the squid frozen from the grocery freezer and thaw as needed. The thicker the squid - the better for this recipe. Get some italian bread -- the spicy tomato sauce deserves to be dipped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Excellent! I followed the recipe, but I think next time I'll make a thicker sauce rather than the marinara type as listed. Just a personal preference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hubbard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I made this for the 7 fishes Christmas eve dinner and it was very well received. I was really suprised that the squid was so tender! I guess baking it for that long takes away the "rubbery" texture. I thought the sauce was much too spicy, so I had to add a can of tomato sauce to tone it down which helped. I wasn't overly wowed with the stuffing. I will definitely search for a different stuffing recipe, but use this method of baking the squid because the texture was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States