Spicy Strawberry Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2005
This is the BEST Strawberry Salad on this site!!! The dressing is what does it - although I leave out the poppy seeds - just personal preference! My hubby doesn't care for strawberry's but will eat this salad without a problem, so will my 2 y/o. I've also added some chopped avocado or left out the mushrooms if I didn't have any....still a great salad! It's fine with just romaine lettuce and instead of chopped pecans (yummy) I find myself tossing in a handful of sunflower seed for a change also. I prefer the dressing at room temperature and I think it thickens up bit this way also. My alsolute favorite salad and it's converting alot of friends and family to salad eating too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
I used extra virgin reserve olive oil in this recipe as I always do for salad dressings because it is the best, however, next time I make this I will use vegetable oil as the recipe states. The olive oil was too heavy for the salad and I felt like I didn't do it justice. Toast the pecans in the microwave for a minute and a half for another added dimension. Next time I will cut the sugar down even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
I made the dressing for this salad and used it on spinach, mangoes and candied pecans and it was delicious. Every single person I made this salad for has asked for the recipe since then!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
WOW! This was DELICIOUS! I used slightly less than 3/4 cup of vegetable oil, all of the sugar (I first tried it with less and added in the rest as we liked it sweeter), deleted the poppy seeds and mushrooms, toasted the pecans and added crumbled feta cheese. The strawberries were just perfect, I used my Pampered Chef egg slicer to make perfect slices after I capped them and although I used mixed greens, I think just using spinach would have made a prettier presentation. Thank you Leslie for the awesome post! We served this with "Perfect Baked Potato" and "Savory Garlic Marinated Steaks" from this site. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
What a great salad! I'm not sure why it's called 'spicy' but it's the best strawberry salad recipe I've come across. Be sure to whisk or beat the dressing thoroughly - the sugar doesn't dissolve properly if not mixed well. The dressing tastes even better the second day. Thanks for a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJP1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
OK! As a lot of the other "raters", I made a few changes: sliced almonds instead of pecan, 1/2 cup of oil, 1/4 cup sugar and since I didn't have dry mustard, I used a teaspoon of a wholegrain dijon mustard and I left the mushrooms out. It was great! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2001
We really enjoyed this salad. I may cut down on the sugar next time but, otherwise, it was delicious and attractive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
Omitted the mushrooms because although we love mushrooms the combination of strawberries and mushrooms just didn't seem to work for us. I also added toasted almonds instead of the pecans, and a bit of chopped scallions. Wonderful flavor with just he right crunch. I served with grilled chicken and it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
This salad is absolutely wonderful. Crisp, sweet, crunch and colorful. I may cut down a bit on the sugar next time, but otherwise fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
This is a very tasty salad but the dressing is a bit too thick. I switched the amounts of sugar to 1/4 cup and upped the amount of balsamic vinegar to 1/2 cup and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States