Spicy Steamed Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
this is how to do 'em...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt Diegel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Hey, a Marylander here, I have to say, this is a tried and true technique. Steaming versus boiling. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
THIS IS A 5 STAR RECIPE WITH SOME CHANGES YOU REALLY DO NOT NEED BUT A CUP OF WATER AND ABOUT A 1/4 CUP OF OLD BAY I PUT MY OLDBAY ON TOP OF MY SHRIMP AND THEN STEAMED ALSO I ADDED ABOUT A 1/4 CUP OF BEER TO WATER TO STEAM IN, COOKED UNTIL JUST PINK, DO NOT OVERCOOK OR SHRIMP WILL BE RUBBERY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudette P Henry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I also added fresh lemons while cooking. Served with cocktail sauce. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Excellent and simple. For timing, I always stop cooking shrimp before they curl all the way (for ANY shrimp recipe, whether steamed, sauteed, baked, or broiled.) Otherwise they may be hard to peel and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
This recipe was easier and much cheaper then go to the local fish market and buying steamed shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Simmons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
This is a great recipe that I've used many times. Now, if you really want to kick it up a notch, throw in some eggs (still in the shell) and corn on the cob to steam along with the shrimp - you'll have a complete meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snedwards13

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
This was so easy and oh so good. I used spice island seafood seasoning instead of the old bay because I didn't have any old bay. Thanks for posting. This is so much better than boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Steamed shrimp with Old Bay is a Maryland-must! You don't necessarily need 3oz. of Old Bay, but sprinkle to evenly coat the shrimp. Add about half a beer (the more aromatic, the better) to the water for a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Yummy! Thanks, my 11 y.o. son loves steamed shrimp in the restaurants down the shore and he enjoyed these very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States