Spicy Steamed Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
THIS IS A 5 STAR RECIPE WITH SOME CHANGES YOU REALLY DO NOT NEED BUT A CUP OF WATER AND ABOUT A 1/4 CUP OF OLD BAY I PUT MY OLDBAY ON TOP OF MY SHRIMP AND THEN STEAMED ALSO I ADDED ABOUT A 1/4 CUP OF BEER TO WATER TO STEAM IN, COOKED UNTIL JUST PINK, DO NOT OVERCOOK OR SHRIMP WILL BE RUBBERY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudette P Henry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EKERR19
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
This is a pretty good start, however needs some improving in my opinion. The Old Bay called for is way too much - also, when steaming the shrimp, make sure to "steam" - not boil them. Use a colander inside a large saucepan. I make mine using 12oz. of beer such as Fat Tire Amber Ale or Corona, about 3/4 cup of water, 3T Old Bay and 1/4 white vinegar - bring to a fast boil and reduce to simmer. I also sprinkle a little Old Bay and Zatarain's Blackened Seasoning and a bit of Lemon Pepper over the shrimp - then into the colander (over the gently boiling beer/water/vinegar) they go. Cover and steam depending on size of shrimp. I use fairly large size and will keep the liquid on a low boil so the shrimp steam just until tails begin to curl. Chill or serve immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EKERR19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
this is how to do 'em...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt Diegel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Hey, a Marylander here, I have to say, this is a tried and true technique. Steaming versus boiling. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
Really quick and easy! We did this instead of instructions on seasoning box and think it's better this way! A quick rinse under cold water gets most messy stuff off and shrimp is still spicy. Kids didn't appreciate, means more for us! Thanks for great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
I hate to stray from the recipe, but 3 ounces of Old Bay is a whole small jar! I just used 3 T of the seasoning and it was still super spicy. I could really only taste the Old Bay and not the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Very tasty but I think my way is 5 stars instead of 4. I roast the shrimp at 400 degrees just until pink on a baking sheet with a little salt, pepper, and olive oil. Then I season as the recipe suggests. Delicious and more depth of flavor when roasted instead of steamed. Also, I think the texture is better this way, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairview Park, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patrick Luce
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
Good! I didn't add quite as much Old Bay as recipe stated (seemed like alot). I also added a little white distilled vinegar to the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Here is my 5 star version. Put a ceramic plate in the refrigerator to chill. Use the largest raw shrimp you can find, ok if it is frozen; I like the 13-15 shrimp per lb. for a minimum size. Defrost, de-vein and shell. Rinse, pat dry and sprinkle lemon-pepper, Old Bay and whatever dry-rub you like to make spicy. I use Steve Raichlin's Creole Rub. Put a 12 oz flavorful beer, a splash of vinegar and 2 tablespoons of Old Bay in a giant steamer pot with a lid; when it begins to boil, set each shrimp in the steamer basket. Put the lid back on, and in 3 minutes, you will have the most delish shrimps ever. Eat one, then spread the rest on the cold plate, stick in the frig for 1 hour minimum, 4 hrs. max. In the meantime, make the cocktail sauce: I use a refrigerated brand of local horseradish that doesnt even have a brand name, it is basically coarsely cut fresh ground horseradish with a little vinegar and soybean oil. if you want GOOD REAL HOT cocktail sauce, REAL horseradish is required, not the processed in the salad dressing aisle. I use any prepared cocktail sauce from a bottle, doesn't matter what kind; and mix equal parts fresh horseradish with the prepared sauce. You could use ketchup. Whatever! Then, I add the juice of a small lemon, whip it and whip it good and stick it in the frig (while the shrimpies are cooling down) to mix all those fine flavors. About an hour later my husband of 9 years begs me to marry him all over again. That is all. Good luck and have fun. Yeah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie may

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Was very tasty steamed. a nice change. I did not put that much seasoning because of personal preference. I also added one can of heinekin beer to the water. Steaming was fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States