Spicy Steamed Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
This is a great recipe that I've used many times. Now, if you really want to kick it up a notch, throw in some eggs (still in the shell) and corn on the cob to steam along with the shrimp - you'll have a complete meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snedwards13

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I also added fresh lemons while cooking. Served with cocktail sauce. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
this is how to do 'em...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt Diegel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dayna~rae
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
Good! I didn't add quite as much Old Bay as recipe stated (seemed like alot). I also added a little white distilled vinegar to the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
This was a nice tasting recipe. I would have liked it to have a few more seasonings than just old bay, but it was much better than boiling the shrimp. Thanks for a good recipe. I will keep looking for one that has other seasonings added to it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lanham, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
THIS IS A 5 STAR RECIPE WITH SOME CHANGES YOU REALLY DO NOT NEED BUT A CUP OF WATER AND ABOUT A 1/4 CUP OF OLD BAY I PUT MY OLDBAY ON TOP OF MY SHRIMP AND THEN STEAMED ALSO I ADDED ABOUT A 1/4 CUP OF BEER TO WATER TO STEAM IN, COOKED UNTIL JUST PINK, DO NOT OVERCOOK OR SHRIMP WILL BE RUBBERY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudette P Henry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Hey, a Marylander here, I have to say, this is a tried and true technique. Steaming versus boiling. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
I hate to stray from the recipe, but 3 ounces of Old Bay is a whole small jar! I just used 3 T of the seasoning and it was still super spicy. I could really only taste the Old Bay and not the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
This recipe was easier and much cheaper then go to the local fish market and buying steamed shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Simmons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
This was actually pretty good. Very fast too. Less mess than doing a boil but I still prefer to have it boiled cajun style. I like this and I will do it again. It is great to do when you don't have to cook a ton of it for a group. Perfect recipe for doing a small batch of shrimp. For some added kick, I sprinkle a little cayenne directly on the shrmip as well. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States