Spicy Steamed Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I had never fixed shrimp like this before and I'm telling you this is the way to fix em. We do not have a steamer basket so here is how we did it. I put the water in the tall pasta pot, then I got the collander to put the shrimp in, then I set the collander on top of the pot and it fit down in there perfectly. This worked great. Also, I only used about 3T of Old Bay. It was messy to eat, but it reminded me of being at the beach on vacation. Now I know how to steam shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thomaston, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Perfect! I used frozen store brand shrimp, let them thaw under cool water in the sink, and added them to the pot of steaming water. It doesn't take long for them to cook up just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SundayGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Photo by CNM CATERING
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
like others i cut down on the old bay..i made 2lbs and used 1/4 cup..i used 1 cup of water 12oz beer and 1/2 cup jack daniels to steam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
as is excellent but only needed and used 2-3 T old bay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Good, easy recipe. I agree that 3 oz of Old Bay is quite a lot; I cut it down to 1 oz and then kick it up a little with additional cayenne. I make my own cocktail sauce (super easy), add some sourdough bread, butter and we have a great Summer meal. I usually make this ahead of time and we take it with us when we goout on the Sacramento Delta for an overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I use this recipe put I use beer instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Yummy! Thanks, my 11 y.o. son loves steamed shrimp in the restaurants down the shore and he enjoyed these very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Excellent and simple. For timing, I always stop cooking shrimp before they curl all the way (for ANY shrimp recipe, whether steamed, sauteed, baked, or broiled.) Otherwise they may be hard to peel and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Steamed shrimp with Old Bay is a Maryland-must! You don't necessarily need 3oz. of Old Bay, but sprinkle to evenly coat the shrimp. Add about half a beer (the more aromatic, the better) to the water for a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
This was so easy and oh so good. I used spice island seafood seasoning instead of the old bay because I didn't have any old bay. Thanks for posting. This is so much better than boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States