Spicy Steamed Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Was very tasty steamed. a nice change. I did not put that much seasoning because of personal preference. I also added one can of heinekin beer to the water. Steaming was fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I could eat this everyday...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
We've always cooked our shrimp this way. We love to eat them right out of the wate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Very good as written. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LTLFLEA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This was so easy and came out soooo great! I stayed pretty true to the recipe; only added 12 beer & vinegar to water for steaming. Eye-balled the Old Bay and came to about 3 tbs like other reviewers had stated. DELISH!!! Thank you Wendi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTLFLEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
From a Marylander, this is how you do it. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I would just squeeze half a lemon while it is in the steamer. Otherwise, a very good dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EKERR19
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
This is a pretty good start, however needs some improving in my opinion. The Old Bay called for is way too much - also, when steaming the shrimp, make sure to "steam" - not boil them. Use a colander inside a large saucepan. I make mine using 12oz. of beer such as Fat Tire Amber Ale or Corona, about 3/4 cup of water, 3T Old Bay and 1/4 white vinegar - bring to a fast boil and reduce to simmer. I also sprinkle a little Old Bay and Zatarain's Blackened Seasoning and a bit of Lemon Pepper over the shrimp - then into the colander (over the gently boiling beer/water/vinegar) they go. Cover and steam depending on size of shrimp. I use fairly large size and will keep the liquid on a low boil so the shrimp steam just until tails begin to curl. Chill or serve immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EKERR19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Thank you! I made this the first time and we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I steam shrimp in beer, add some Old Bay coating the shrimp, then add 2 tablespoons of pickling spices, then steam cook for about 5-6 mins for 2 lbs of shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States