Spicy Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
Very good recipe for a bumper crop of zucchini squash. I didn't have mayonnaise but found sour cream worked well. The hot peppers gave the dish a nice spicy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
This was better than delicious! I realized when preparing the recipe that I was out of mayonnaise so substituted with sour cream - then realized I didn't have ground beef, and substituted with ground turkey - both were - and wonderful. My Beloved and I ate over half the entire casserole and have set plans to finish it off tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
This was the best squash casserole I have ever tasted. It was even a winner for those in my family who insist they don't like squash. And, it is a terrific way to use up that bumper crop of squash from your garden. I bought disposable aluminum casseroles and made extras for the freezer, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaverton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
Excellent!!! Used winter Banana Squash and sliced and browned Italian sausage, a can of diced green chilis, "Mexican seasoning" and extra cheese (of course!~~) and was wonderful! Also, I put just a little bit of shredded cheddar on top of the cracker crumbs for added "eye appeal". Will share recipe as well as make for church potlucks. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
This was easy to make and very good. My husband loved it! It could use a tad more flavor, but seasoning with a little salt and pepper will do the trick (and maybe garlic powder?). This is also a great Atkins/low-carb recipe -- the only thing I had to omit was the crackers from the top, which I replaced with more cheddar cheese! A welcome change from your ordinary meat and noodles casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
I read the previous reviews and made a few changes based on what ppl were saying about it not having flavor. Instead of sauteing the squash in butter, I cooked one slice of bacon in a non-stick pan first and then sauteed the squash in the bacon drippings. I also added a big pinch of ground thyme to the squash mixture. Instead of cooking the ground beef with jalapenos, I stirred in a drained can of Rotel tomatoes after I mixed in the eggs and mayonaise. It was GREAT! Even my husband, who does not like squash, loved the casserole! (of course I didn't tell him it was in there!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
Great recipe!. My 9 yr old loved it!. I did not have jalapenos so I added about 1 tsp thyme and 1 teaspoon Cajun seasoning for a kick. Also added a little pepper/garlic salt. Also used panko instead of crackers and drizzled butter over them. Thanks Liz!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Fontaine Bennett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biddeford, Maine, USA
Living In: Triangle, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
My husband and I loved this dish! I used chayote squash instead of yellow because it was on sale. I also used ground turkey and only one egg. It wasn't really very spicy, but it tasted really good. My husband hates squash, but he thought this was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Very good. Used sour cream insted of mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Can't eat spicy food? I made this recipe without the jalapenos, using Italian-seasoned bread crumbs for the topping instead of crackers. I was afraid it might be too bland, but it is now a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Richmond, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a Paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States