Spicy Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Instead of regular mayo I used garlic-herb lemonaise (Ojai Cook Brand). This added a great flavor to the dish. I served over some fresh baby spinach and orzo pasta. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
We really liked it, but had to make some changes since we have to eat gluten free. First, as a prefrence, i used a can of undrained rotel rather than the jalapeno peppers. Instead of mayo i used a gluten free cream of mushroom soup. I made as directed except topped with the cheese instead of crackers during the last 10 minutes or so of cooking. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by QHHUNTERS
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Nice squash recipe. I used 2 zucchini & 2 yellow squash. Also used 2 Sweet Italian Sausages with the casings removed and cooked sausage crumbled. Like others I used lowfat sour cream instead of mayo. Will make again, especially for a potluck dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QHHUNTERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I have made this recipe more than 10 times and it always gets rave reviews. You can use any ground meat. I have tried turkey, beef and Italian sausage (bulk not link) with great results. I gave it four stars because of the need to add additional spices. I always add garlic. Today I also added 1 T. of fresh basil. Sometimes I add fresh thyme. It depends on what looks good in the herb garden. I also use Serrano peppers instead of jalapeno because we like them better than Jalapeno. Because we like things extra spicy, I leave the seeds in. When making it for another family, I seeded the peppers. When entertaining vegetarians, I left the meat out and added a couple of extra squash. They all loved it. Spice this recipe to suit your family's taste and it's definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I was weary about trying this...but I love summer squash so I gave it a whirl. Very good! I always season my squash with soy sauce so I did that. I didn't have fresh Jalapeno's, but used about 1/4 cup chopped jarred ones instead. I used egg beaters instead of eggs and added a can of petite diced tomatoes. Omitted the bread crumb topping and added more cheese about 15 minutes before it was done baking. My roommate and I LOVED this! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALECIACRUMPLER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Hubby's absolute favorite comfort food. I do not slice the squash; typically I use zucchini, and employ a chopper that dices into narrow rectangles; I do cheat and use a can of chopped jalapenos instead of fresh;and when out of crackers I have used Italian bread crumbs (with a light spritz of butter spray) with equal success. But the combination suggested for the casserole is perfect. I am nervous, but I am going to try to double the recipe for a potluck-- wish me luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreadpiraterosato

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This was great... Did not have peppers so used spicy Mayo. It worked great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I made this last week and we loved it! It is just my husband and myself so we ate it for 2 nights. Just this morning he asked when we would have it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Can't eat spicy food? I made this recipe without the jalapenos, using Italian-seasoned bread crumbs for the topping instead of crackers. I was afraid it might be too bland, but it is now a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Richmond, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This was a good recipe. I added some garlic while cooking the squash for a little extra flavor. I didn't have any crackers so I used bread crumbs and sprinkled extra cheese on top. Then I broiled it for the last 4 minutes to make the cheese a little crispy. Next time I will add some extra jalapenos since we like it spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States