Spicy Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This was a good recipe. I added some garlic while cooking the squash for a little extra flavor. I didn't have any crackers so I used bread crumbs and sprinkled extra cheese on top. Then I broiled it for the last 4 minutes to make the cheese a little crispy. Next time I will add some extra jalapenos since we like it spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Well, this was a hit with my finicky step-dad! I didn't use jalapenos because he doesn't like spicy, but instead cumin and paprika. It was a bit bland for my taste, but perfect for him. I also used spagetti squash and precooked it in the oven for 20 minutes before sauteeing. Was tasty and will probably make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aleria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bella Bella, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Very goo but I made it with Zucchini and yellow squash and added some lemon and garlic to it while it sauteed. I also layered it instead of mixing it, but will try it mixed next time I make it. I think it was very good and has room for improvement. I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
It was pretty easy to make, and it tasted very good. It felt light and healthy, no heavy feeling after dinner. I added a little bit of blue cheese to it, which my husband loved. Also, i didn't have jalapenos, so i added red pepper seeds instead, and it tasted great. Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Very good. Used sour cream insted of mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
This turned out great! I had a bunch of squash from my CSA, along with a pound of local ground pork so this was exactly the type of recipe I was looking for. I did half mayo, half low-fat cream cheese, kept some seeds in my jalapenos for additional heat, added garlic powder, thyme, white pepper, black pepper and plenty of salt. I could tell this recipe would need more seasoning by just reading it, which is why it got 4 stars instead of 5. Very tasty and flavorful with the addition of some basic spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmd77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
The reviews on this seemed to be really mixed depending on how you spiced up this very unspicy recipe. I took the opportunity to get rid of some Sazon Goya seasoning that I don't remember why I bought in the first place. My husband commented several times on how good it was. I wasn't crazy about the cracker crumbs, next time I would just use bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
Sorry, but this needs flavor. I tried the Rotel, too. It probably helped, but not enough. I will not be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
Great recipe. I did change a few things, used half the butter and light miracle whip to save a few calories. Also served it with chipotle hot sauce to sprinkle on top for a little more heat. My husband and I thought it was a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
This just wasn't to our liking. The only change I made was in the cooking order. I sauteed the squash, onion, jalapeno together to keep all of their flavors and then browned my ground beef and drained it. I added a little Creole seasoning for oomph. While it wasn't bad, we all agreed it just wasn't something we will have again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States