Spicy Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Can't eat spicy food? I made this recipe without the jalapenos, using Italian-seasoned bread crumbs for the topping instead of crackers. I was afraid it might be too bland, but it is now a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Richmond, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This was a good recipe. I added some garlic while cooking the squash for a little extra flavor. I didn't have any crackers so I used bread crumbs and sprinkled extra cheese on top. Then I broiled it for the last 4 minutes to make the cheese a little crispy. Next time I will add some extra jalapenos since we like it spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Well, this was a hit with my finicky step-dad! I didn't use jalapenos because he doesn't like spicy, but instead cumin and paprika. It was a bit bland for my taste, but perfect for him. I also used spagetti squash and precooked it in the oven for 20 minutes before sauteeing. Was tasty and will probably make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aleria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bella Bella, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Very goo but I made it with Zucchini and yellow squash and added some lemon and garlic to it while it sauteed. I also layered it instead of mixing it, but will try it mixed next time I make it. I think it was very good and has room for improvement. I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
It was pretty easy to make, and it tasted very good. It felt light and healthy, no heavy feeling after dinner. I added a little bit of blue cheese to it, which my husband loved. Also, i didn't have jalapenos, so i added red pepper seeds instead, and it tasted great. Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Very good. Used sour cream insted of mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
This turned out great! I had a bunch of squash from my CSA, along with a pound of local ground pork so this was exactly the type of recipe I was looking for. I did half mayo, half low-fat cream cheese, kept some seeds in my jalapenos for additional heat, added garlic powder, thyme, white pepper, black pepper and plenty of salt. I could tell this recipe would need more seasoning by just reading it, which is why it got 4 stars instead of 5. Very tasty and flavorful with the addition of some basic spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmd77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
The reviews on this seemed to be really mixed depending on how you spiced up this very unspicy recipe. I took the opportunity to get rid of some Sazon Goya seasoning that I don't remember why I bought in the first place. My husband commented several times on how good it was. I wasn't crazy about the cracker crumbs, next time I would just use bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
Sorry, but this needs flavor. I tried the Rotel, too. It probably helped, but not enough. I will not be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
Great recipe. I did change a few things, used half the butter and light miracle whip to save a few calories. Also served it with chipotle hot sauce to sprinkle on top for a little more heat. My husband and I thought it was a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States