Spicy Spanish Sausage Supper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
If you're comparing this to jambalaya, you're making jambalaya wrong. The recipe is good. It could be better, but it's good. What would make it better: ditch the rice mix and use real rice, garlic, and seasonings, add a little whole fennel seeds, and add a lot of smoked paprika. Or ground chipotle pepper. Yes, I know, chipotle isn't Spanish. But it does combine smoky flavor with mild pepper heat, so two birds, one stone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehouse Station, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I made this two days ago and it is still good. Minor changes were left out olives. Used 1/2 Andouille sausage and 1/2 regular smoked sausage, added a cup more rice and used 2 cups of chicken broth to compensate for the rice I added. Still used written amount of water. Turned out perfect. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaLee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Photo by Courtney Woods
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
We all liked this. I wasn't sure if I would like the green olives in it, as I normally don't use them in cooking. I was going to use black olives instead but decided to give the green a try - and it was great! I did cut my sausage into quarters and fried it with the bell pepper, celery and onions. My boyfriend said he would like me to make it with shrimp added in next time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Woods

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fayetteville, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
My husband loved this. A new and easy way to make summer sausage. I left out the green olives and substituted black olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
I fried ahead of time as well and added cheese as others have noted. Next time I will add more rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
Husband & I both loved it! I used spicey sausage & added some chili powder also. It was even better when reheated for lunch! Also sprinkled cheddar on top before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
I can only rate this a 4 because it was too spicy for the kids and husband. But, I LOVED it! I cooked the sausage though, following others suggestions. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PANDABEAR01

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
I thought this was very good! I used Tomato Basil Rice by Uncle Bens and mild sausage that I my Uncle gave me. The sausage is mild and doesnt produce any oil! I have no idea what its called. I cooked the sausage on low with the peppers, onions and celery. Quick and Easy! Can't ask for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2001
Kinda spicy for the kids with the peppers, but a nice, easy quick one skillet-meal. Will probably add some chicken next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2000
Tastes similar to jumbalaya, and isn't that much quicker to make. Would rather have the real stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Moneypenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Sausage Ragu

Watch how to make a super easy, unbelievably delicious pasta sauce.

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States