Spicy Spaghetti Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Easy, check. Healthy, check. Tasty, check. It's in the regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Best paleo meal I've made yet! Will definitely make this meal again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by N barber
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Really loved this recipe! I had never made spaghetti squash before and was afraid I might screw up the texture but it was perfect- it does take a long time in the oven, though. Followed the recipe very closely but added half a can of tomato sauce, upped the oregano, fresh parsley, and garlic. I used tofurky Italian sausage instead of turkey and it matched the flavors beautifully! I also added basil while the sauce was simmering, and I tossed the squash with a tiny amount of butter, sugar, and salt before combining everything. This dish was satisfying but quite low in calories. Thanks for the recipe- I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Yummy, easy and filling dish. More like 4 servings than 6. You don't really need to let the squash cool after cooking - so you can make the sauce in parallel and finish faster. Heats up well as leftovers (I stored them separately).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Winnetka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This was fairly bland. The red peppers add some heat, but very little taste. If I make it again, I will probably change the turkey to beef, make sure to drain, switch from crushed tomato to a tomato sauce, and season the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Simple and easy. Plus it tasted so similar to high-carb pasta! Great for my South Beach menu. My changes were to omit the capers and scallions (didn't have them on hand), switch basil for the oregano and leave out the turkey this time. Still tasted great! One tip - sometimes spaghetti squash can be wet, so you may have to drain it a bit (esp if you microwaved it with water). Otherwise you'll have a soupy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GALA62

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canandaigua, New York, USA
Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Definitely a good substitute for pasta and something different for the family to try. We liked this recipe. I only put half the recipe for red pepper flakes after reading some comments, and I also took some advice and seasoned the squash before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
The red pepper flakes overwhelm this recipe. I only put in 1 tsp. while increasing the rest of the ingredients and it was still too spicy for us. I guess, in fairness, it is called SPICY spaghetti squash but for me, it didn't balance well, even with less red pepper... Also, this would have been better if after the squash is almost done to mix with the other ingredients, lay it out almost flat, add some Parmesan cheese and stick it under the broiler for a few minutes to crisp. I will not be making this again but if you like spaghetti squash and HOT sauce, go for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I modified this a little to tailor it to our tastes (and to Hubs’ sensitive innards) and we enjoyed it – its crisp/tender strands of spaghetti squash against the flavorful, tomato-y, slightly piquant sauce. First of all, because I intended this as a side dish I skipped the turkey. I was lucky enough to still have tomatoes I had put up from last year’s garden, used white onion instead of green (but not a half cup, for sure!) and drastically reduced both the oregano and especially the crushed red pepper flakes. A good sprinkle of fresh grated Parmigiano-Reggiano upon serving made this particularly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Great Recipe! i cheat and just add the ground turkey to a simple pasta sauce, omit the capers and add a little more of the pepper flakes.Sprinkle with shredded mozzarella or Parmesan. keep sauce and squash separate for leftovers. Squash reheated with a little butter and parmesan - the bomb! Definitely a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Spaghetti Squash I

See how to make scrumptious spaghetti squash “spaghetti."

Spaghetti Squash with Pine Nuts and Romano

Spaghetti squash stands in deliciously for regular old pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States