Spicy Spaghetti Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Simple and easy. Plus it tasted so similar to high-carb pasta! Great for my South Beach menu. My changes were to omit the capers and scallions (didn't have them on hand), switch basil for the oregano and leave out the turkey this time. Still tasted great! One tip - sometimes spaghetti squash can be wet, so you may have to drain it a bit (esp if you microwaved it with water). Otherwise you'll have a soupy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GALA62

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canandaigua, New York, USA
Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Definitely a good substitute for pasta and something different for the family to try. We liked this recipe. I only put half the recipe for red pepper flakes after reading some comments, and I also took some advice and seasoned the squash before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
The red pepper flakes overwhelm this recipe. I only put in 1 tsp. while increasing the rest of the ingredients and it was still too spicy for us. I guess, in fairness, it is called SPICY spaghetti squash but for me, it didn't balance well, even with less red pepper... Also, this would have been better if after the squash is almost done to mix with the other ingredients, lay it out almost flat, add some Parmesan cheese and stick it under the broiler for a few minutes to crisp. I will not be making this again but if you like spaghetti squash and HOT sauce, go for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I modified this a little to tailor it to our tastes (and to Hubs’ sensitive innards) and we enjoyed it – its crisp/tender strands of spaghetti squash against the flavorful, tomato-y, slightly piquant sauce. First of all, because I intended this as a side dish I skipped the turkey. I was lucky enough to still have tomatoes I had put up from last year’s garden, used white onion instead of green (but not a half cup, for sure!) and drastically reduced both the oregano and especially the crushed red pepper flakes. A good sprinkle of fresh grated Parmigiano-Reggiano upon serving made this particularly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Great Recipe! i cheat and just add the ground turkey to a simple pasta sauce, omit the capers and add a little more of the pepper flakes.Sprinkle with shredded mozzarella or Parmesan. keep sauce and squash separate for leftovers. Squash reheated with a little butter and parmesan - the bomb! Definitely a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
perfect healthy dish! we loved it! i made one change - instead of crushed tomatoes, i used jarred tomato sauce. i will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This was my first time cooking spagetti squash The flavours of this recipe were a delicious blend and the texture of the spagetti squash was perfect. I didn't have turkey, so I used leftover chicken. The only real adjustment I made to the ingredients was cutting the amount of red pepper flake used in half and it still had a nice spicy bite. Easy to make, delicious to eat and oh so healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Way too much red pepper flakes. Why not bring them to the table, instead, and let those who care to partake in them sprinkle them on instead. If I'm using the oven anyway, I roast about 6 to 8 cloves of garlic sprinkled heavily with red pepper flakes in small ramekins and serve them on a lazy susan in the middle of the table along with other condiments. My boyfriend just loves 'spicy' on his spaghetti type dishes, but I recognize that not everyone does, so this works quite well and if someone wants just a small taste, they can! :>D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Oh my, this is good !! Used the basic receipe but since I had cleaned out my spices in anticipation of getting all new...I added Old Bay Seasoning to spice things up a bit.....1 tblsp....I small container of tomato concentrate and some black olive juice along with the onion and garlic...Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
WHY did I wait so long to try this recipe?! Absolutely delicious and oh so very easy. Yum yum yum yum yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Spaghetti Squash I

See how to make scrumptious spaghetti squash “spaghetti."

Spaghetti Squash with Pine Nuts and Romano

Spaghetti squash stands in deliciously for regular old pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States