Spicy Spaghetti Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I really have never liked squash or zucchini types of vegetables, but there was so much positives about spaghetti squash, I decided to try it. I found this recipe and put it to the test. I added chopped tomatoes to get rid of them and followed everything else as written. This recipe is very easy and pretty quick, my squash was done in the oven ahead of time. I was scared to try the microwave as some comments stated. I was only disappointed that squash is so watery, which is probably one of the reasons I never liked it. Like okra, if you don't have it made correctly when you first try it, you will hate it forever...at least I usually do. I put free mozzarella on it and really liked it. I love the sauce and will likely put it on some fettuccine at some point. I will also cut down a little on the cayenne. This does not take the place of pasta If that is truly what you want, but it is great as a way to enjoy a fun meal in place of a standard pasta dish to save on some calories and carbs. Thanks for the recipe and for helping me to Try something I never would have a year ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
This was absolutely delicious! I added a tad bit more garlic and crushed peppers but it was superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Delicious!!! just the right amount of spice. I doubled the sauce as I had a very large squash. Most definitely will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
WARNING!!: I followed the suggestion a reviewer made to cook the squash in the microwave. I used a common glass casserole dish I'd used a zillion times in the oven, and I'm positive it must have been microwave safe. After about 12 min it was done, I took it out, set it on the counter and BAM! it shattered into a million little pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Robinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Easy, check. Healthy, check. Tasty, check. It's in the regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Best paleo meal I've made yet! Will definitely make this meal again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by N barber
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Really loved this recipe! I had never made spaghetti squash before and was afraid I might screw up the texture but it was perfect- it does take a long time in the oven, though. Followed the recipe very closely but added half a can of tomato sauce, upped the oregano, fresh parsley, and garlic. I used tofurky Italian sausage instead of turkey and it matched the flavors beautifully! I also added basil while the sauce was simmering, and I tossed the squash with a tiny amount of butter, sugar, and salt before combining everything. This dish was satisfying but quite low in calories. Thanks for the recipe- I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Yummy, easy and filling dish. More like 4 servings than 6. You don't really need to let the squash cool after cooking - so you can make the sauce in parallel and finish faster. Heats up well as leftovers (I stored them separately).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This was fairly bland. The red peppers add some heat, but very little taste. If I make it again, I will probably change the turkey to beef, make sure to drain, switch from crushed tomato to a tomato sauce, and season the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Simple and easy. Plus it tasted so similar to high-carb pasta! Great for my South Beach menu. My changes were to omit the capers and scallions (didn't have them on hand), switch basil for the oregano and leave out the turkey this time. Still tasted great! One tip - sometimes spaghetti squash can be wet, so you may have to drain it a bit (esp if you microwaved it with water). Otherwise you'll have a soupy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GALA62

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canandaigua, New York, USA
Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Spaghetti Squash I

See how to make scrumptious spaghetti squash “spaghetti."

Spaghetti Squash with Pine Nuts and Romano

Spaghetti squash stands in deliciously for regular old pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States