Spicy Spaghetti Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
Instead of baking the spaghetti squash, try microwaving. I put cut side down in a pyrex dish, add about 1/3 cup water, cover with plastic wrap, and it takes about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
246 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
Sooooo good! My boyfriend and I loved this recipe! However I did make some alteration to the cooking of the spaghetti squash. Instead, I cut it in half, placed it open side UP, sprinkled it with seasoning salt, garlic powder, dried minced onion, and oregano, and then placed half a stick of butter inside each half of the squash. I added a whole package of turkey (20 oz.) then followed the rest of the recipe to a tee. This puts any type of pasta recipe to shame! My boyfriend was excited to have leftovers for the next day as well. I will definately be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Busy Bunny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
Absolutely delicious and as easy as it gets. I didn't have ground turkey on hand, so I removed the casings from 3 reduced fat sausage links, sauteed separately and drained the grease, then added to the sauce as it simmered. I also added a 14 oz can of diced tomatoes with Italian seasonings (undrained), which made the sauce extra hearty. Next time I'm going to try adding some mushrooms, or maybe using cannellini in place of the turkey for an even healthier (and Lenten appropriate!) version. Word to the wise - don't skimp on the grated cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
THis is 3 points a serving (flex)for WW and mostly CORE except for the 2 T wine spread over six servings should be 0 points (core)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
My husband is on phase 1 of the South Beach diet. This was a great recipe for him and he loved it! It was a good way to curb a pasta fix and we didn't feel super full as we would have with the equivalent amount of pasta =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
What a great way to satisfy the spaghetti craving if you are on a lower carb diet. My family is very picky and they said this recipe was a keeper. Only omitted the capers. This dish also tasted very good as leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
This was great! Super easy, and very tasty. It was a nice, low calorie, main meal. For even faster prep, you can put the squash in a casserole dish with about a 1/2 inch of water, cover with plastic wrap, and microwave for about 15 minutes. However, you will lose a little of that "roasted" taste. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
made this lastnight for myself and my 2 children. we've never had spaghetti squash before and this was DELISH!! we loved it!! i used turkey italian sauage and it was great. next time i'll cut bach on the red pepper flakes, it was alittle to spicy for the kids but other then that i'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
Not bad. I don't care for either spaghetti squash nor ground turkey, and this was a decent way to fix both. However, even for our Tex-Mex-spicy-loving family, this was too hot. I'd halve the red pepper flakes. As is, it left my lips and mouth feeling burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2001
Fantastic combination of flavors; very earthy and rich. Aside from the cooking time for the squash (which in my oven took 90 minutes), it's a cinch to put together. The spiciness quotient makes it a little less kid-/tenderfoot-friendly as is. I recommend scaling back the red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Spaghetti Squash I

See how to make scrumptious spaghetti squash “spaghetti."

Spaghetti Squash with Pine Nuts and Romano

Spaghetti squash stands in deliciously for regular old pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States