Spicy Spaghetti Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I skipped the step of cutting it in half. I pierced it with a knife all over and nuked it for 10 minutes, not covering it and no water. Came out perfectly. I used leftover ground lamb and pork tenderloin for the meat. Used a 29 oz. can of the crushed tomatoes and omitted the wine and capers. The thickness of the sauce was just right. We put freshly grated Romano on it as a great finish. This was very tasty and also a very attractive dish. I am going to add cubed eggplant to it for the leftovers. If served alone, this was enough for 2 of us to eat for one meal and enough for a 2nd meal as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This was the first time I had tried spaghetti squash. We enjoyed this recipe very much with a few modifications. I used ground beef instead of turkey since that is what I had on hand. I added a small can of tomato sauce since I wanted thicker sauce. Sugar about 1 tbsp for a little sweetness,1tsp basil and used the tomatoes that had garlic oregano and basil added. My husband raved about it. He said "this is really good and I said thanks". He said" no his is really really really good!" I also left out the capers since it seemed like it did not really go with the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I'd never made spaghetti squash before. I'm usually a butternut or acorn fan. Since my husband is a newly diagnosed diabetic, I've been looking for new recipes to try. This sounded good. I was wrong - it was great! I took other reviewers advice and cut the crushed red pepper in half. I'm so happy I did.. It was hot enough that way. I'll definitely be making this again, as it was wonderfully reminicent of "real" spaghetti, but much better nutritionally for my family at this time. It got the kids to eat squash - gotta love that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Someone gave me a spaghetti squash from their garden and I had no idea what to do with it, but this recipe was a great choice! I left out the capers, used 1 lb. of turkey, and 1 can diced tomatoes with juice. We didn't think it was overly spicy and it was really really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendora, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I felt this deserved 5 stars for a very healthy, low fat/low carb meal. To save time I halved the squash and cooked in a microwave for approximately 10 minutes with halves face down in a pyrex dish and approx 1/4 c of water. I chose to eliminate the capers and added lots of red pepper flakes to add heat. Topped with freshly grated parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k2 kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Good! Took a lot of time to prep, usually I make dishes that take less time to take. My husband and I didn't have any leftovers. I doubt I'd make it again and I'd definitely recommend giving it a try. I used diced tomatoes instead of crushed (one can), a whole package of ground turkey, all dried spices, no capers, and leeks instead of an onion. .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Wonderful. It's a very low-cal dish with a ton of flavor. Perfect as advertised. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Wow, this was so good. The only reason I gave it 4 sstars and not 5 is because it was way, way too spicy. I mean I love spice, I am all for it, but this for me was way too spicy. Next time I will use 1/2 the recommended amount and see how it tastes then. I mean I could not even have a spoon full without having a drink because my lips were on fire! But this is an amazingly easy recipe and the meal otherwise was edible, although it was painful, because all the red pepper! Be Warned, use 1/2 the recommended red pepper or be prepared for burnt lips! Otherwise it would of been so delicious. My husband could not even get past the first bite, because all the red pepper! It does freeze well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anabela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Pretty good. I used dried oregano instead of fresh which was a bit overpowering. Next time will add a small amount of brown sugar to balance the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CIGALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
OMG! This dish is wonderful! I would order it over a bowl of pasta any day. The squash is so satisfying. The taste is delicious. I didn't have the capers and I used 2 cans of Italian stewed tomatoes(drained). Would be great for entertaining guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yt4Me

Displaying results 81-90 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Spaghetti Squash I

See how to make scrumptious spaghetti squash “spaghetti."

Spaghetti Squash with Pine Nuts and Romano

Spaghetti squash stands in deliciously for regular old pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States