Spicy Spaghetti Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
the squash has barely any flavor at all to it. I wouldn't really call this spicy either....unless you add more red pepper or hot peppers of some type...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bwulleman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Maine, USA
Living In: Lisbon, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This is so wonderful. I have tried spaghetti squash a couple of times in the past, and was less than impressed, so I was a little hesitant about this recipe. Not to worry, it's delicious! Changes: I had a can of diced tomatoes, not crushed, and it was only about 1 3/4 cup, so I added some jarred Prego to the mix. I don't keep wine in the house, so that was out. I had some pesto in the fridge that was wanting to be used for something, so I added a bit of that. Cut the red pepper in half and I think next time I'll use close to the full amount. Also added a couple of leaves of fresh chopped basil because I had it on hand. I almost didn't use the capers, but those went in too. Overall, this is a great sauce that will make a repeat appearance here, whether it's over spaghetti squash or regular spaghetti. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I have never made or eaten spaghetti squash so when I bought one and found this recipe, it was a must try! What a fantastic and unique dish...great flavour, healthy and low cal, we loved it! My only small changes were using dried herbs instead of fresh (was out) and I added a pile of mushrooms in with my onion and garlic, yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
we were never a spaghetti squash family...but this recipe is AWESOME! i did change it up a bit. i added slivered zucchini to the sauteed veggies before i added the meat. i only used a tiny bit of red pepper flakes and i added mozzarella and parm cheese. when the squash was done i placed it into a baking dish sprayed with PAM then topped it with one layer of the meat then some of the mozzarella, more meat mixture them more mozzarella then a tiny bit of parm. baked it at 350 for 35 minutes...family loved it. this is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Had my doubts about this recipe but it is AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Great combination of flavors. I skipped the capers but the rest of it was great! I especially like the little bit of spice to zip it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This was awesome! I made it for my dad who was recently diagnosed with the first stages of diabetes and he thought it was great - did make one adjustment - added about 4 teaspoons of capers instead of 2, but that's just personal taste, we love capers! Also used fresh tomatoes (didn't have a can) and boiled them for a couple of minutes before adding, and turned out great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Wow - I actually like this better than spaghetti with sauce. I even went back for halves (half of seconds). I'll be very sad when squash season is over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Stone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Excellent dish! I made this as written, except I used spicy italian sausage instead of turkey. This recipe is a great alternative to pasta. If you prefer to tone it down some, simply leave out the red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Table for Two

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Great healthy dish. I make it without the turkey and I add a zucchini and a couple mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Spaghetti Squash I

See how to make scrumptious spaghetti squash “spaghetti."

Spaghetti Squash with Pine Nuts and Romano

Spaghetti squash stands in deliciously for regular old pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States