Spicy Southwestern Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
This recipe is absolutely refreshing, crunchy and just plain delicious. Although, I mix shredded cabbage with a bag of broccoli slaw. This gives it an extra bit of crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2000
Excellent side dish with my mexican main dishes. My family does not like cilantro so I added Schillings mexican seasoning which was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
If you follow the recipe - I'd say 3 stars. The initial recipe is a good start, but I thought it was bland. It was spicy, but lacked taste. I added more vinegar (didn't measure, probably ~3-4T), cumin (~2T), and the rest of the package of cilantro (I ended up using a whole package from the store), and 2 cloves of garlic. Finally I substituted olive oil (that I had sitting for about a month or so with red peppers and seeds in it). Overall, it turned out excellent, everyone liked it. I think adding cumin makes a big difference in making this a southwest-like slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2002
This spicy slaw is so good! I made it one afternoon and had it all eaten before dinnertime! I had to add some more cabbage to the leftover dressing so there would be some for the family to eat with dinner! I've made it 2 more times in a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
Excellent recipe. I left out the jalapenos for fear my family wouldn't eat it and it was still spicy enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2002
I could not taste anything but the cayenne pepper. I would recommend half of the cayenne. Some of my guests truly loved this recipe but others truly hated...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
I love spicey foods. I thought this was very good. Deffinitely a change from your normal coleslaw. Going to serve it at my weekly Texas Holdem Poker game with some smoked barbequed Pork sandwiches. I used my food processor to chop everything so easy to make. Thanks for sharing this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
Terrific recipe & so simple. Do you have any other simple recipes?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2002
Nice change to the standard coleslaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schererville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fairfax Station, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2002
you can make this very spicy or not depending on taste. lots of chopping, but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States