Spicy Southwestern Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I added more cilantro due to personal preference and this tasted very fresh and was very colorful. I will definitely make again! It is a great side for any Mexican dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Awesome recipe, thanks! I didn't put in all the cayenne called for in the recipe only because I was serving this with Chipotle Shrimp Tacos & they were plenty spicy. Yumm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbqgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This was a great way to use my extra cabbage. 3 cups was just less than 1/2 head. I used only HALF of the called for oil (1/4 cup only), and substituted with olive oil (to keep on track with my WeightWatchers plan). Also only used 1/2 of the jalapeno for a nice bite! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I loved this recipe and have shared it with friends. The flavor lasts for several days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This is based on a very traditional recipe which I, too, have been using for years. The addition of jalapeno and cayenne can make this too hot for some tastes but either one or both can be reduced or left out. The only change I would make is to increase the vinegar to oil ratio. By the way, this keeps very well, and only improves in the next few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I've been making this slaw for years! My husband and I love very very spicy hot food, so I usually crank up the cayenne and the jalapeno!! My husband is a very finicky eater, but he absolutely loves this slaw. We generally have it as a side dish to other sort of spicy entrees like jamaican jerk chicken, spice rubbed ribs or spice marinated, spice rubbed chicken. For those that don't like it too spicy, just adjust the cayenne and jalapeno. Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Destin, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
some liked it, others didn't...don't know if I'll make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Sanders

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
What a change! This will be my most requested slaw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Basil Scott Roland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA
Living In: Brevard, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Great flavor! Nice change from the norm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This was good just a little greasy!!! I made this the night before and it was a little on the greasy side, but still good. I tried to follow the recipe except I used cumin instead of cayenne pepper because I have not been able to find it in the store for some reason, I didn't have cilantro and I used jarred jalapenos instead of fresh and sliced the carrots instead of shredding. I will make this again, it's a nice change from the usual creamy milky coleslaw!!!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States