Spicy Southwestern Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
some liked it, others didn't...don't know if I'll make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
What a change! This will be my most requested slaw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA
Living In: Brevard, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Great flavor! Nice change from the norm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This was good just a little greasy!!! I made this the night before and it was a little on the greasy side, but still good. I tried to follow the recipe except I used cumin instead of cayenne pepper because I have not been able to find it in the store for some reason, I didn't have cilantro and I used jarred jalapenos instead of fresh and sliced the carrots instead of shredding. I will make this again, it's a nice change from the usual creamy milky coleslaw!!!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I liked this, it was good. I made it as is except to leave out the cilantro b/c I didn't want to buy it since I rarely use it. It didn't taste *too* spicy, but maybe it was since my mouth is all tingly-burny now!!! I eyeballed the cayenne and probably came up a bit short. I ate two (ground turkey) tacos tonight, one with this on the side, and one with this as a topping. I preferred this as a side dish, but i think it would make a great topping for a more delicate meat, like shrimp or fish tacos, and some avacado to mellow it out. I'm going to try that with the leftovers. One more thing...probably a little less oil next time. Vinegar was right, though. **ETA: I made a single shrimp taco for lunch with the leftovers (sauteed 5 med. shrimp in butter with cumin and chili powder, piled in taco shell, topped with chopped avocado and a generous helping of this slaw)--DELICIOUS! I prefer this slaw used this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakerbecky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
If you love spicy hot food, this is delicious but it's one of those love/hate dishes. If you don't like "fire" in your slaw, you'll hate it. Definitely not a potluck dish because a lot of people won't be able to eat it. I gave it 5 stars because my son raved about it. I think next time I'll use mild green chiles in place of the jalapeno and cumin for the cayenne to try to keep that delicious flavor but lose some of the heat.Excellent recipe as is if you tolerate super spicy foods well and I will make it again with those changes.Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I used half the oil and doubled the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
A family favorite! I leave out the jalapeno and reduce the cayenne, and it's still quite spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Flavor overload!This was slaw-a-riffic! The flavors were fresh and the dressing was light and delicous. This is a SPICY slaw. Maybe next time we will use a little less cayanne pepper but overall you will love this festive mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenandcamille

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Super easy and delicious way to get more veggies. I'd go with a little less oil and a little more vinegar in dressing. Excellent as garnish for the "Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle-Lime Dressing" recipe on this site. This will be in regular rotation at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States