Spicy Southwestern Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
This is by far my favorite and most frequently made recipe from Allrecipes. I've brought it to BBQs and potlucks and receive lots of requests for the recipe. I admit that it is very spicy, especially if you make this a day in advance. Adjust the recipe if you don't like spicy. My favorite ways to eat this are as a taco topping or as a side with pulled pork. I don't like canola oil; instead, I use olive oil. I love that this is not a mayo-based slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Photo by Kare
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Made it purple instead! I needed to use my head of purple cabbage so I substituted. I didn't add sugar and instead of canola oil I used olive oil. no fresh jalapeño either so I grabbed a few from a jar. it's hot! did not even use the cayenne. pretty tasty! could eat it alone or with tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
love this. great wth mexican dishes or would be great with pulled pork
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Kornely

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
My husband has a love for spicy food and crisp veggies. I used bagged coleslaw mix, less sugar & a bit more vinegar. It was a huge hit & has been on the menu twice since trying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
This slaw tastes good and is refreshingly different. I added an extra 1.5 tablespoons of the cider vinegar to make it a little more zesty (for our tastes). I also used red cabbage sliced into long very thin shreds and green onions in place of the regular onion. Giving the slaw ample time to sit allows the cabbage time to macerate, so this is important step in my opinion. The finished product had great flavor and interesting textures. The variety of colors made it visibly appealing as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Just okay - even with half an onion this had too much raw onion for my wife and I. We did like the dressing, although we doubled the amount of dressing while sticking with the recipe recommended amount of slaw. If I made this again I'd cut the amount of onion to maybe a quarter of a sweet onion and maybe add some garlic to the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
DELICIOUS!!!!!! I added some spices and a bunch of pickled jalapenos but aside from that it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coreo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I gave it a four b.c like others I felt it was a little bland the first time I made it. Now I follow the recipe to a T w/ the addition of the juice of 1 lemon, 1 tspn each of cumin & chipotle chili powder, 2 cloves of garlic. Delicious as a side & then we add grilled chicken and crispy tortilla strips to the leftovers for lunch salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Delicious. Made this to top some chipotle burgers. Really made the burger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I made this and is was soooooooo good, my teenage daughter loved it also and she will only eat my regular coleslaw, nobody else's. It had just a little kick that went pop as you ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States