Spicy Southwestern Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
love this. great wth mexican dishes or would be great with pulled pork
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Kornely

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
My husband has a love for spicy food and crisp veggies. I used bagged coleslaw mix, less sugar & a bit more vinegar. It was a huge hit & has been on the menu twice since trying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
This slaw tastes good and is refreshingly different. I added an extra 1.5 tablespoons of the cider vinegar to make it a little more zesty (for our tastes). I also used red cabbage sliced into long very thin shreds and green onions in place of the regular onion. Giving the slaw ample time to sit allows the cabbage time to macerate, so this is important step in my opinion. The finished product had great flavor and interesting textures. The variety of colors made it visibly appealing as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Just okay - even with half an onion this had too much raw onion for my wife and I. We did like the dressing, although we doubled the amount of dressing while sticking with the recipe recommended amount of slaw. If I made this again I'd cut the amount of onion to maybe a quarter of a sweet onion and maybe add some garlic to the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
DELICIOUS!!!!!! I added some spices and a bunch of pickled jalapenos but aside from that it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coreo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I gave it a four b.c like others I felt it was a little bland the first time I made it. Now I follow the recipe to a T w/ the addition of the juice of 1 lemon, 1 tspn each of cumin & chipotle chili powder, 2 cloves of garlic. Delicious as a side & then we add grilled chicken and crispy tortilla strips to the leftovers for lunch salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Delicious. Made this to top some chipotle burgers. Really made the burger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I made this and is was soooooooo good, my teenage daughter loved it also and she will only eat my regular coleslaw, nobody else's. It had just a little kick that went pop as you ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Served this recipe as a side to a carnitas taco dinner, it was a hit. I used olive oil (instead of canola) and green chile (instead of bell pepper), thank you for posting this recipe~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I've made this several times and it's one of the few recipes that I make absolutely no changes to - it's perfect. I hate mayonnaise based cole slaw, and this is the perfect answer. The leftovers go GREAT on fish tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States