Spicy Southwest Chopped Salad with Salsa Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
This salad was delicious! I used raw corn, omitted the chicken and the beans, and tossed the veggies with the salsa verde (which is what I'm assuming you're supposed to do, but the directions leave you hanging). Great flavor, nice texture, and very pretty--good for a party. If you've never had cotija, it's a very dry, mild, salty cheese; it reminds me of cheese curd. If you can find it, use it (but I wouldn't sub anything else)--it really adds to this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
LOVED this salad! Made it just as described. The flavors are perfect. Left out the cotija, couldn't find it at my store. My husband wants me to make the salsa all of the time now!! 2nd Review..just made this salad with ground beef...wow! So yummy this time added the cotija cheese and went to heaven. Can't wait for the lefties....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIADAMIANI
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Yum! Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This is delicious and I could tell just by looking at it that it's a nutritionist's dream. For my comments/suggestions: I used Queso Fresco instead of Cotija because it's much cheaper (less than half the cost). Also, I seasoned the chicken with salt, pepper and chile powder and I was quite happy with that in place of the cajun seasoning. I had one serving without avocado and I would say that is a must for the recipe. And lastly, I would actually suggest skipping the lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Excellent flavor, although labor intensive. Worth it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Made this for Recipe Group: 30, April '11. My family really enjoyed this salad. It is a little time consuming to put together, but worth it. I realized as I'm typing this review that we forgot to put the cheese on it. The dressing on this salad is the best part in my opinion. I will most certainly make the dressing again. The lime flavor is a very nice compliment to this salad. Thanks Jenny for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
We loved this salad! The salsa verde turned out so flavorful and delicious, and the salad was really good too. I thought the chicken would be pretty spicy, but it wasn't. It just had a mild flavor that complemented the rest of the salad well. Depending on how much pepper you use for the salsa, that could be spicy, but ours had a nice medium flavor. I will be making this salad again, yum! Thanks for the recipe, Jenny from WA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This was an interesting salad. It was chosen by the "recipe group" on AR for the Cinco De Mayo theme. It had a lot of ingredients! And, it also made it a little pricey to buy them all. I decided to make the dressing one day and the rest of the salad another day. I followed the recipe exactly except I broiled the chicken breast, used queso fresco, and 3/4 cup of cooked frozen corn to save a little time. I also had to use iceburg lettuce because the leaf lettuce I bought seemed like it had turned even though I had just purchased it. I loved the salsa verde and will use that again in other recipes or as a chip dip. Now that I have the cajun spice I might make more broiled chicken with it for an alfredo or other recipe. But, making all these components for one salad was a bit much to me. It was tasty it just seemed like a few separate recipes, combined to make one, that are great on their own. I would also not consider this to be a good representation of Cinco de May though, as it is not a classic dish, although that has nothing to do with the recipe. I do think this salad would be perfect for a January diet resolution though, as it is loaded with nutrients and fiber!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Overall, a good salad that I will make again for sure but lacked the wow factor that would have made it 5 star. This only took me an hour to prepare. I made the corn in the microwave and wish I had actually grilled it. I also didn't have red peppers so used green and added a little tomato garnish for color. The salsa was very good and had a different texture(which we liked) than most other verde recipes I've tried. The instructions didn't really say what to do with the salsa so I used it as dressing. I think I would prefer mixing some with the avocado mixture to "disperse" it better as it's rather thick and doesn't really pour. I like a little taste in every bite and the overall dish was a little "dry" served as it was. Without the lettuce, it would make a pretty good summer side dish, that would hold up well. Thanks, Jenny (and the Recipe Group)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Made this for Recipe Group. I prepped everything and then put the avocado mix on some Boston lettuce leaves, adding the salsa verde on top (as stated, it doesn’t say what you are supposed to do with it), Queso Fresco on top of that, chicken on the sides and garnished with lime wedges. The cilantro overpowered the salsa for me, I don’t care much for it anyway. The salad as a whole seemed to be just dry raw veggies with chicken. If the salsa is supposed to be mixed in with the avocado mix, that may account for the dryness part. Although I did mix it all together before eating. I didn’t care too much for it and added in some Catalina dressing. A nice southwest dressing would go wonderful here. Hubby liked it and added more of the salsa to his. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Chopped Cashew Salad

A colorful, crunchy salad loaded with good stuff like avocados, grapes, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States