Spicy Slow Cooker Mac-n-Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
This was GREAT! We had Mexican Pork Chorizo on hand and used that. We also spiced it up a bit with some Tapatio Hot Salsa...too spicy for the kids, but great for us! If you didn't want any meat in it, it would still be fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Waterford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
AWESOME! Everyone in my family loved it! Even my fiance who is picky about just everything gave it a third helping status. We used the kielbasa and it came out great. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiefailure

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I dropped the andouille - just not my taste, but added some chili powder! Loved this recipe. So cheesy and tasty and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Very good but I would suggest using only 1/2 cup of each type of cheese. Mine came out way too cheesy using 1 cup of each type. Also the sausage taste takes over. I didnt mind but my wife did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rd_sparrow
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I was really excited to try out this recipe. The final dish came was excellent. I did however make the following modifications. 1. I used Chorizo sausage which I first browned along with a can ( 4 oz. ) of green chiles and around 10 oz of picante sauce ( medium ). Salt and peppered 2. Removed from heat and cut the browned sausage ( 1 lb ) in rounds ( still pink in center ) and added to slow cooker - which already had the cheddar soup and water mixed in. 3. Added a 1/2 packet of taco seasoning. 4. Cooked for an additional hour on High, and added another 3/4 cup water. I also did not stir frequently as I think this defeats the purpose of a slow cooker. 5. Added extra cheddar cheese. I let it this dish sit overnight as well. Very well received by my wife. There was a nice background heat to a traditional baked mac and cheese taste. This was not a standard creamy out of the box Velveeta meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rd_sparrow
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This recipe was really easy and tasted great. I used turkey kielbasa and browned it first. Next time I will add the kielbasa with the cheese and sour cream as it kind of took over the flavor of the rest of the dish. Also, I found that using whole wheat pasta made it less mushy and added some nutrition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This was excellent but I made a few changes. 1) I used 1.5c shredded Cheddar cheese and 1/2c Mozzarella. 2) I used half a kielbasa instead of a spicy sausage. 3) I didn't season at all, it was already enough from the soups. My son (23m) ate his entire bowl and my husband went back for seconds. I will change the cheeses next time and probably use less water (way too much sauce). I'll try different pasta (smaller) and more kielbasa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I made this without the meat and it came out delicious. The pasta was definitely overcooked, but not in a particularly bad way. The sauce was very cheesy and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manny
Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Next time I would omit water and use pepperjack instead of mozzorella. I cooked noodles separate as others suggested
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jarrett
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I followed the recipe but it took about 4 hours to cook fully. Second time I used extra sausage, and cheese. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Macaroni and Cheese

Just set it and forget it. Come home to cheesy comfort food in your crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Erica's Delicious Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Come home to a rich, hearty slow-cooked pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States