Spicy Slow Cooker Mac-n-Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
This was GREAT! We had Mexican Pork Chorizo on hand and used that. We also spiced it up a bit with some Tapatio Hot Salsa...too spicy for the kids, but great for us! If you didn't want any meat in it, it would still be fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Waterford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
AWESOME! Everyone in my family loved it! Even my fiance who is picky about just everything gave it a third helping status. We used the kielbasa and it came out great. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiefailure

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
After reading all the reviews, I took the advice of everyone and grilled the Kielbasa first, Browning it. While I added the Soup mix, water and I also added 1 can of Diced tomatoes with green chilies. I let them marry for an hour (with the Kielbasa). I proceeded to add the shells after 1 hour on High, I originally planned on only cooking the shells 1 hour but checked them after 45 minutes and they were perfect. I used almost a cup of sour cream and 1 cup colby-jack and 1 cup of sharp cheddar. It turned out pretty good, nothing to write home to mom about. Until 7 hours later when I reheated it and it was like I got it from some expensive restaurant. I also added about 5 healthy dashes of hot sauce in the beginning. It turned out pretty good. The whole reason I made this dish is because I had some Kielbasa I had to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This recipe was really easy and tasted great. I used turkey kielbasa and browned it first. Next time I will add the kielbasa with the cheese and sour cream as it kind of took over the flavor of the rest of the dish. Also, I found that using whole wheat pasta made it less mushy and added some nutrition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This was excellent but I made a few changes. 1) I used 1.5c shredded Cheddar cheese and 1/2c Mozzarella. 2) I used half a kielbasa instead of a spicy sausage. 3) I didn't season at all, it was already enough from the soups. My son (23m) ate his entire bowl and my husband went back for seconds. I will change the cheeses next time and probably use less water (way too much sauce). I'll try different pasta (smaller) and more kielbasa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I made this without the meat and it came out delicious. The pasta was definitely overcooked, but not in a particularly bad way. The sauce was very cheesy and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manny
Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Very good but I would suggest using only 1/2 cup of each type of cheese. Mine came out way too cheesy using 1 cup of each type. Also the sausage taste takes over. I didnt mind but my wife did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I've made this recipe several times with no changes whatsoever. Which is why I'm reviewing it AS IS, unlike many reviewers here who rate the recipe then proceed to list 5-25 changes. Not fair to the issuers of these recipes. I love to read recipes, but it really scrapes my rear-end to have all these "ratings" that include a jillion changes and modifications. Please respect the generous souls that share their recipes here! (By the way, this mac-n-cheese recipe is great for those of us on the run) Prepare it like the recipe states, THEN make changes if you wish. If your changes are delicious, be daring and post a new recipe. But don't be surprised when others completely change your recipe then have the audacity to give you a low rating. (Soap box closed)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I just wanted to start off saying that I omitted the sausage since no one in my house is a sausage fan. Besides that, I followed the directions to a T, I stirred often, etc., but the end result was not so good. The pasta was very "glue like" and completely lost its shape, I actually had to cut into it since it was to mushy to scoop out. Unfortunately, it wasn't a hit, but I'm rating it 4 stars, because I didn't add the sausage and that may have been why this recipe didn't turn the way I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Weymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This was really good, and I am a fan of using raw pasta. My only complaint was that it seemed a little dry, so I added a bit more water (I like creamy mac and cheese). I will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

See how to make an incredibly simple chicken stroganoff in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States