Spicy Slow Cooker Mac-n-Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I've made this recipe several times with no changes whatsoever. Which is why I'm reviewing it AS IS, unlike many reviewers here who rate the recipe then proceed to list 5-25 changes. Not fair to the issuers of these recipes. I love to read recipes, but it really scrapes my rear-end to have all these "ratings" that include a jillion changes and modifications. Please respect the generous souls that share their recipes here! (By the way, this mac-n-cheese recipe is great for those of us on the run) Prepare it like the recipe states, THEN make changes if you wish. If your changes are delicious, be daring and post a new recipe. But don't be surprised when others completely change your recipe then have the audacity to give you a low rating. (Soap box closed)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rd_sparrow
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I was really excited to try out this recipe. The final dish came was excellent. I did however make the following modifications. 1. I used Chorizo sausage which I first browned along with a can ( 4 oz. ) of green chiles and around 10 oz of picante sauce ( medium ). Salt and peppered 2. Removed from heat and cut the browned sausage ( 1 lb ) in rounds ( still pink in center ) and added to slow cooker - which already had the cheddar soup and water mixed in. 3. Added a 1/2 packet of taco seasoning. 4. Cooked for an additional hour on High, and added another 3/4 cup water. I also did not stir frequently as I think this defeats the purpose of a slow cooker. 5. Added extra cheddar cheese. I let it this dish sit overnight as well. Very well received by my wife. There was a nice background heat to a traditional baked mac and cheese taste. This was not a standard creamy out of the box Velveeta meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rd_sparrow
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This recipe was really easy and tasted great. I used turkey kielbasa and browned it first. Next time I will add the kielbasa with the cheese and sour cream as it kind of took over the flavor of the rest of the dish. Also, I found that using whole wheat pasta made it less mushy and added some nutrition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This was really bad. I only cooked the pasta for an hour and a half and it was total MUSH. Not only was it mushy, the cheese flavor was way too much. If I made this again, and I won't, I would omitt the mozarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
AWESOME! Everyone in my family loved it! Even my fiance who is picky about just everything gave it a third helping status. We used the kielbasa and it came out great. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiefailure

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
The shells were mushy, I only cooked it an hour. It would have been better to cook the shells on the stove and add them in at the end. The flavor was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This was excellent but I made a few changes. 1) I used 1.5c shredded Cheddar cheese and 1/2c Mozzarella. 2) I used half a kielbasa instead of a spicy sausage. 3) I didn't season at all, it was already enough from the soups. My son (23m) ate his entire bowl and my husband went back for seconds. I will change the cheeses next time and probably use less water (way too much sauce). I'll try different pasta (smaller) and more kielbasa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I made this without the meat and found there weren't enough noodles so I boiled some more and added them after. The noodles that were cooked in the slow cooker were very mushy but I kind of liked them that way (I am pregnant though). It was annoying to have to get up and stir so often. If I make it again I'll probably only cook it for an hour to avoid the mushy noodles and constant stirring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Made exactly as directed. The noodles became total mush long before the allotted time. I didn't care for the sausage and since it was not in for very long, its flavor did not permeate the dish, and the sausage itself didn't get nice and soft like other sausage slow cooker recipes that I make. Add to that the cost of this recipe after you hunt down andouille sausage (6.99 for the package, the ONLY type at my grocery store) and I was looking at $15 for a pretty generic meal. It seems like this would be made just as easily making the sauce on the stove and preparing the noodles separately to give them the best consistency. On the positives - I thought that the sauce was really great. It's nice and creamy and quite tasty. I know it seems blasphemous to not use real cream or milk in mac and cheese but I always find that dishes made with cream sauce never reheat very nicely. If I make this again I will forget the sausage and go straight for mac-n-cheese, and only if I can get the entire dish for under $5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThrenJen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I just wanted to start off saying that I omitted the sausage since no one in my house is a sausage fan. Besides that, I followed the directions to a T, I stirred often, etc., but the end result was not so good. The pasta was very "glue like" and completely lost its shape, I actually had to cut into it since it was to mushy to scoop out. Unfortunately, it wasn't a hit, but I'm rating it 4 stars, because I didn't add the sausage and that may have been why this recipe didn't turn the way I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Weymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

See how to make an incredibly simple chicken stroganoff in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States