Spicy Slow Cooker Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This was a good base for a slow cooker black bean soup. After several changes, I look forward to making this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
We really enjoyed the flavor of this dish! Simple to make, we used canned beans to spead things up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bercher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I soaked the beans for 9 hours and then cooked on high in the crock pot for about 3.5 hours. I wish I could rave about it like the others, but I can't. It's missing something. It just doesn't do it for me. I ended up draining the liquid and freezing the beans to use in another recipe and will probably start doing that on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
What can I say? Simply delicious! My husband, who doesn't normally care for black beans, went back for seconds -- I think that says it all! My changes: I added one chopped onion, a few cloves of minced garlic and two roasted/seeded/diced Anaheim chiles to the crockpot. After the beans were tender, I added one 15 oz can of diced tomatoes. After tasting, I ended up adding about 1 tsp more cumin, chili powder, onion powder, and garlic powder to give it more oomph. I used an immersion blender to blend about 1/2 of the soup before serving topped with fresh chopped tomato and grated cheddar. This one will be going in my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Delicious! I added green pepper, onion and a can of diced tomatoes. Cooked 11 hours on low and it was perfect! Next time I will do a cup less broth as it wasn't as thick as we would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This was okay. I added some diced red onion and some cilantro to give it a little more flavor. Not the best I've ever had but really easy to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I also thought this was really good - made exactly as specified, although I added salt (My broth was no fat, no sodium and I definitely thought salt was needed!) I also pureed about half the soup and returned to the crockpot to cook for about another hour. Topped with a sprinkling of shredded cheese, a dollop of sour cream and homemade cornbread on the side. YUM! It was a TOUCH spicy for me, but I a wimp - my husband thought it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Taste was good, but beans were still on the hard side. Not great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I did not change a thing in this recipe, I did not feel I needed to. I loved it! Just enough spice. Thank you for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by From Granno's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mira Loma, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I added a little sour cream to it....yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TST

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States