Spicy Slow Cooker Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Simple and easy to make with ingredients I already had in the pantry. The cumin added a nice zesty twist that livened up the bland taste that black means usually have and it also heightened the chili powder taste. I used less chicken broth and cooked in the crock pot and served on rice instead of like a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Didn't really like it much. Too plain and a bit too spicy. Don't plan on making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This is a very great tasting soup recipe, my husband loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookings, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Elkton, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Very good. I used Bob's Red Mill Black Bean Soup Mix and kept the seasonings the same. When it was done, I added one can of drained diced tomatoes. It was quite thick, so I served it with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This recipe was really good! I used canned beans instead of dried, added a little less japlapeno and skipped the hot pepper sauce altogether. My boyfriend, who hates vegetables and isn't the biggest soup guy, LOVES this recipe. I love how simple it is. Definitely blend about a quarter or less of the soup to get a thick, saucy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by guilingverity

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I wish I could give this 10 stars! I add a can of Ro-Tel and use hand blender to thicken before serving with cilantro and lime wedge. SO GOOD. I wish I had thought to make this yesterday so I could enjoy it tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This was OK. I thought by soaking the beans overnight would make them softer by the time the cooking (crock pot) was over. NOT! I see why some put this in the blender - which I don't have. I think that would have solved the problem! Decent taste tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Great recipe. I am giving it 4 stars instead of 5 because of all the additions I made to make it flavorful. I added some fresh garlic, more chili powder and pepper sauce because we like it spicy, and some bottled salsa (which makes all the difference!). I followed the suggestion of pureeing half of the soup which made the consistency excellent. Serve with a little sour cream on top and it becomes even more delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This was a good base for a slow cooker black bean soup. After several changes, I look forward to making this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
We really enjoyed the flavor of this dish! Simple to make, we used canned beans to spead things up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bercher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States