Spicy Slow Cooker Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This recipe was really good! I used canned beans instead of dried, added a little less japlapeno and skipped the hot pepper sauce altogether. My boyfriend, who hates vegetables and isn't the biggest soup guy, LOVES this recipe. I love how simple it is. Definitely blend about a quarter or less of the soup to get a thick, saucy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by guilingverity

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I wish I could give this 10 stars! I add a can of Ro-Tel and use hand blender to thicken before serving with cilantro and lime wedge. SO GOOD. I wish I had thought to make this yesterday so I could enjoy it tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This was OK. I thought by soaking the beans overnight would make them softer by the time the cooking (crock pot) was over. NOT! I see why some put this in the blender - which I don't have. I think that would have solved the problem! Decent taste tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Great recipe. I am giving it 4 stars instead of 5 because of all the additions I made to make it flavorful. I added some fresh garlic, more chili powder and pepper sauce because we like it spicy, and some bottled salsa (which makes all the difference!). I followed the suggestion of pureeing half of the soup which made the consistency excellent. Serve with a little sour cream on top and it becomes even more delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This was a good base for a slow cooker black bean soup. After several changes, I look forward to making this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
We really enjoyed the flavor of this dish! Simple to make, we used canned beans to spead things up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bercher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I soaked the beans for 9 hours and then cooked on high in the crock pot for about 3.5 hours. I wish I could rave about it like the others, but I can't. It's missing something. It just doesn't do it for me. I ended up draining the liquid and freezing the beans to use in another recipe and will probably start doing that on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
What can I say? Simply delicious! My husband, who doesn't normally care for black beans, went back for seconds -- I think that says it all! My changes: I added one chopped onion, a few cloves of minced garlic and two roasted/seeded/diced Anaheim chiles to the crockpot. After the beans were tender, I added one 15 oz can of diced tomatoes. After tasting, I ended up adding about 1 tsp more cumin, chili powder, onion powder, and garlic powder to give it more oomph. I used an immersion blender to blend about 1/2 of the soup before serving topped with fresh chopped tomato and grated cheddar. This one will be going in my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Delicious! I added green pepper, onion and a can of diced tomatoes. Cooked 11 hours on low and it was perfect! Next time I will do a cup less broth as it wasn't as thick as we would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This was okay. I added some diced red onion and some cilantro to give it a little more flavor. Not the best I've ever had but really easy to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States