Spicy Slow Cooker Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I followed a lot of the tips from reviewers and added a can of diced tomatoes, diced onion, etc, and I toned down the spice a lot because I'm weak sauce that way. It was really yummy and super easy to make. Topped with shredded mozzarella cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Rehovot, Mehoz Hamerkaz, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Too spicy for us but I used tomatoes with peppers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This just didn't do it for us. I cut back on the "hot stuff"--reduced the jalapenos and eliminated the hot sauce and the cayenne. But it was still way too hot. And other than hot, it didn't have much flavor. We ended up tossing this out after a couple of days since no one wanted a second meal of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
The flavor of this soup is amazing! I was afraid it would be too spicy, but with a dollop of sour cream it is just right. One thing that I wold change is the amount of liquid. It seemed to be too thin. Other than that it was wonderful and I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
The recipe, as is, is not bad. However, I did find it a little bland. It wasn't until I found a packet of Goya Ham flavoring that the recipe came alive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I just made this and agree with others that it's very hot. Cutback on cayenne and chili powder and skipped Tabasco. Used a hand blender, but left some whole beans. It's on the thin side, but that's what I've been looking for. A Mexican restaurant used to serve a soup like this with sides of onions, salsa, cilantro, cheese, avocado, fried tortilla chips, and sour cream. This is the perfect base to serve with those sides and let guests customize their bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Great basic recipe. I simmered the dried beans in water about 30 minutes and then let them soak in the broth overnight in fridge. This made more sense to me. They can be absorbing the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Allow more time to cook for tender beans. Didn't add jalapenos and cut the chili powder quantity down to 2 tsp instead of the 1 tbsp. Added 2 cans of diced tomatoes with green chili's. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This is a great recipe base. I am a vegetarian so I swapped the chicken broth for vegetable broth. I prefer spicy food so I tripled the spices. I served it over brown rice with grilled tofu. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
great recipe. I added the end of a honey ham to the crock pot and cooked all day on low. Husband loved it and he usually doesn't like black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Iberia, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States