Spicy Slow Cooker Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Really tasty, good basic recipe that can be adjusted any number of ways. I added a half pound of chopped smoked ham, a heaping tablespoon of minced onion, and a can of Rotel tomatoes with green chilies. I also used two whole jalapenos chopped finely rather than 2 teaspoons. If you don't blend or mash the beans, you can remove them with a slotted spoon, and serve them as, well...beans. (The blended, thickened version is good too.) As I'm typing this review, I'm making this recipe for the third time--this has become a regular meal at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
We were so impressed with this recipe! I had 2 cups of beef broth left over from another recipe so I used that plus 4 cups (one box) chicken broth and this was delicious. I also put some in the blender to thicken it up a little. I left the hot sauce out and added like a garnish. This is a spicy recipe and so full of flavor. We topped it with cheddar cheese, sour cream and fresh cilantro. Thank you for such a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Very good! I also recommend the can of diced tomatoes and pureeing half of the beans to make it thicker. Added some chicken which I think was a good idea. I may decrease the broth a little (5 cups) next time to make it a tad thicker. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaddleClub09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Super spicy & good. I soaked my beans over night and then rinsed and brought them to a boil. then transferred them to a crockpot with the chicken broth and spices etc... I used jarred sliced jalapenos and not four teaspoons - and I didn't measure the hot sauce...just several shakes! Wowser! I did use my smart stick to puree most of it. I also threw in a can of tomatoes with diced chilis at the last second. I served with chopped onion & shredded cheese as toppers. Excellent. Will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Excellent! I added coursely chopped celery, tomatoes, & carrots, and sauteed finely chopped onion & garlic. The carrots were especially delicious! Really great - I was expecting to be disappointed, to be honest. I omitted the cayenne pepper since I didn't have any on hand, and I think it was just hot enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I will no longer doubt a recipe when "spicy" is in the title. I thought this would have a little kick to it, but it had a big kick. I even left out the hot pepper sauce and it was still way too spicy. I finished my bowl, but my husband could not. :) Next time I make this I will use less jalapenos and less cayenne pepper. I pureed half of the batch in the blender and then mixed it back in. Really great consistency. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zionsville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
4 out of 5. A good, basic recipe. It is spicy hot, as a warning to those who don't care for that, but we love it in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palouse, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Very good starter recipe. Our family really enjoyed it. I think this is a great recipe to add to to really make this soup your own. Personally, I added a bit of chopped ham, finely diced onion, carrot, celery and a can of fire roasted tomatoes. After the beans were tender I put about half of the mixture into the food processor with a half a block of cream cheese and then added it back to the remaining soup/beans. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Excellent! Everyone went back for seconds (a few had thirds). I noticed some reviewers didn't soak their beans, but I soaked mine overnight. I used fresh garlic in place of garlic powder and added diced onion. Before serving, I pureed some of the beans with a little bit of the liquid then added it all back to the soup to thicken it. Outstanding!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I wasn't a huge fan, but it wasn't bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States