Spicy Slow Cooker Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
For me, this is the perfect amount of spicy. I mashed up the beans a little bit with a potato masher. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Sebring
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I loved this recipe. I soaked the beans the night before and put everything into a crockpot. The beans were perfect. I had black beans on a small flour tortilla, fresh sliced avocado and a dash of sour cream. A simple meal but delicious. The recipe makes meals versatile and time saving with the crockpot. Will make it many times to come. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buhl, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Absolutely fantastic - worried a bit about the amount of heat in the spices, but it turned out to be sooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martin B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Fantastic recipe. I make some changes based on our tastes. We add the can of rotel, pork chops, and onions based on other reviews, and we substitute chipotle powder for cayenne pepper. We leave out the jalapenos so that the children will be able to eat it better. Otherwise we make it as-is. Definitely a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Very easy, very delicious. Like everyone else, I made additions (onions, green and red peppers). This base recipe is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
pretty good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Very good recipe. I threw in a can of rotel, diced red onion, diced green pepper. I think you definitely have to blend half of the soup at the end or it's texture just isn't right. Also - I soaked the beans overnight, but I think a bit of boiling would have been better - like people said. I will make again for sure. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Dad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
i wasn't trying to make a soup out of this but wanted some direction to cook black beans from scratch as my first attempt was a fail.. glad i read wannabechef7's review.. i made sure to bring the beans to a boil (after 6 hours of soaking) and then after 4 hours of being on high in the crock pot it was nearly done.. turned it down to low for about an hour and it was completely done.. i omitted the jalapeno, cayenne, and hot pepper sauce because i wanted more generic black beans.. used beef broth in place of chicken.. this was awesome.. ty so much for the recipe and new found confidence in making black beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
This was a fantastic recipe! I simmered the beans for 10 minutes and allowed them to soak overnight. The texture was perfect. Based on other reviewers, and knowing I don't like super spicy foods, I only put in 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne pepper, and I served it with a dollop of sour cream. Otherwise I stayed true to the recipe. Excellent! The leftovers are fantastic for lunch too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
As I am a vegetarian, I substituted the chicken broth for vegetable. Was a little bland, next time will add onions, green peppers and tomatoes. And if you use dry beans, either boil them on the stove top or add lots more time than 6 hours to your crock pot time. Dry beans will not get quite as tender in the pot in 6 hours even if you soak them overnight. All in all, good soup though. Will for sure make again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States